You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 14,114 ft. - [a survival story]

in #fiction7 years ago

This is a phenomenally imaginative story. How did you dream this up? I love it! A little bleak, but I would expect no less!

True story: my maiden name is Pike and I am a direct descendant of Zebulon Pike, founder of Pike’s Peak. He was evidently my great great great great uncle.

I really lived the writing voice in this story!

Sort:  

Thanks for plowing through it! I tried to write it a little differently, a little more deep pov with some clever words and descriptions, and only the most scant dialogue. I think it requires a little more of the reader this way, versus just being able to skip through easy to chew on bits of dialogue or simple sentences and phrases. Still, I am super glad you read it and enjoyed it!

I also forgot to comment on how awesome it is that you have your lineage traced back to Zebulon Pike! My only connection to the mountain is that I drove up a short part of the way, many many years ago, but it stuck with me how monumentally large it was.

Funny thing is, from what I understand, Pike never climbed it. He said it could not be done. Today, I think you can get up with a walker.

But anyway, back to your story. I think it’s quite masterful—beautifully and richly told and very readable. Kudos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57