The beach accident - A short story - Feel good story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

                    

For the first time in months Debby had the day to herself.  She woke up early with the sun shining brightly through the window.  She forgot to close the curtains the previous night because she was just too tired. It was still early and she turned around to go back to sleep but after a few minutes realized that that was just not going to happen.  

She'd been working night shift for the last two months and she was totally exhausted. She was the head nurse in the emergency unit at the best hospital in the city, and she devoted herself to her job. Lately she had been feeling more tired than usual, and one of the doctor's suggested that she take a few days off.  She hasn't had a holiday in the last two years since starting at the hospital and for once decided to take the doctor's advice.  

She lay in bed trying to fall asleep again, but decided that it was a total waste of time. She got up to go to the bathroom, and stopped in front of the mirror and had a good look at herself. She was as pale as a ghost due to the lack of sun, and she was sure a little bit of vitamin D would solve that situation quickly.    

It was an absolute shame that she lived so close to the ocean, but she never had time to spend on the beach. She took a quick shower,tied her hair up in a ponytail, and then continued to put on a pair of shorts over her swimming costume.  Today she was going to make up for lost time.  She would grab a bite to eat at the kiosk, near the beachfront but she was going to enjoy every little bit of sunshine that she could. 

It was extremely hot and she rented an umbrella to at least have some form of shade.  She found a good spot and set herself up neatly.  After she put on her suntan-lotion, she shook the sand off her towel, and lay down on the beach under the umbrella. She took out her book to read and it didn't take too long for her to become drowsy and she decided to take a short nap. She felt so relaxed- more relaxed than she had in months- and drifted in and out of sleep in the next few minutes.  

She slept for a while, but was then rudely interrupted by a ball hitting her right on her forehead. She shrieked and jumped up to check what was going on, but was still in a haze from the sleep.  Next to her was a little boy with the sweetest innocent face she had ever seen. He was about six year's old and she didn't have the heart to scold him. 

"I'm sorry lady...my dad is teaching me to catch a ball and I missed...." he said very politely. Debby saw a man walking closer and dusted the sand of her face.  

"I'm so sorry. I'm Ben and this is my son Michael....How can we make this up to you?"

Debby could see that they felt very sorry. She smiled and said:

"You don't have to make up anything. Perhaps it was a good thing that this happened. I might have burned to a crisp if I slept longer."

"Can I stick you for a drink?" Ben said hopefully. 

"That would be great, as long as we can get some ice-cream for this little man" Debby said and winked at Michael. 

Michael helped her to pack up her stuff while Ben took down the umbrella. 

"Not a bad deal" Debby thought to herself as they walked to the restaurant.  

It is amazing what you can pick up at the beach if you just put in the effort:)  

Image source

Sort:  

A very nice story. I am like Debby I live close to the beach but never have time to get there and just relax.

Oh gosh @coffeetime I am exactly the same. At least I have an ocean view from my window where I work. Time for change. We should start thinking about ourselves more.

Really enjoyed reading this.

As a land-locked city kid myself, born and raised, I personally have a love/hate relationship with the beach whenever I get to one. Love looking at the ocean for hours, love the calming sound of the waves and the salty, tangy smell, but absolutely detest the beating down of the sun and most importantly of all: all the freakin sand! If the beach equated to lovely grass and trees and then immediately the sea, it would be the best place in the world. But that's just my opinion.

I live by the beach. I love it but I too hate the sand, but there is nothing that beats that feeling. We have a lovely secluded beach where we go and sit with trees, so we always have shade. We often go on Sundays and then just relax there for the day. It is so worth it.

Sometimes goodness can come from a painful jolt ;)

Enjoyed reading your short story.. Any more of this?

I've written plenty of stories...just scroll down my blog. I've written stories that is up to 25 chapters if you actually enjoy my writing. Thanks.

Great! I'll be checking out your stories 😊

This story sound amazing to read it .
I appreciate you for such a good writing
Very interesting . and way you write it , make this story more good .
Keep it up dear

wow amazing I really like you story.You have a great story thanks for sharing. And Please Upload more stories like this. Thanks

Story are the shortest distance between us and truth so when we understand and uncover theses stories we gain the opportunity to understand may be we need a new story...
stay blessed thanks for sharing the post:):):)

Wauuuu beatifull

I enjoyed every paragraph of tryout post today. It worth reading. Keep writing

Fun vacation, I love your story, best regards @giantbear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33