You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tweet - Constrained Writing Contest #13

in #fiction7 years ago

I enjoyed and appreciated this. My husband and I have started homesteading and a lot of times, if I have a gardening question, I call my grandmother and ask her what to do. She has the biggest green thumb of anyone I know! I know she appreciates having a grandkid that is interested in putting in hard labor and enjoying the fruits of that labor. Thank you for your entry!

Sort:  

Thank you! I think a lot about the disconnect between generations (especially because of technology) and how we are losing some of the important hard skills — awesome that it sounds like those skills are beumg inherited in your family.

I think gardening was becoming a lost art, but there is a large uprising of people who are going back to the simple life without fully abandoning technology. Instead they are switching to an earth friendly alternative like solar energy. I want solar so bad! Anyways, very good! Very relatable for me!

Absolutely—there are a lot of technologies that make a return to ‘simplicity’ (a loaded term, I realize) possible.

Our absolute dream is a net zero home and the lifestyle that goes with it.

Net zero homes are awesome! You would think something like that would be a standard, but sadly it isn't. If I was to build a home, it would be something worth doing. We didn't build, but we bought a foreclosure several years ago. We are trying to get debt free, but eventually I want to add on and do some energy saving updates.

That's a great option, too--the add ons. We are considering something like that if we can't find a lot to build from scratch on.

I hope one day it is standard, but you know... I think just making those choices has an impact because you are able to lead by example and other people see what's possible. Glad to have connected with you -- it's nice to meet like-minded people!

There is a huge crowd of homesteaders on here and it's always fun to check out their energy saving, back to basics projects they are doing.