You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction7 years ago

imagine living off fish and frogs for (indeterminate period of time).
fish once or twice a week is oK
but every meal every day. ...for weeks or months?

yeah..Wilber loves to tinker...(heh...yeah he does)

Sort:  

I lived off the land for a summer in Alaska. Fish runs made it trivially easy not to starve, but as you note, a hankerin' for red meat develops.

I spent a day hunting squirrels. The Pine Squirrels where I'm from are between the size of mice and rats, but damn tasty. Took about a dozen to make a decent meal.

Back to fish.

After about a week of that, hankered for red meat again. Didn't have enough ammo for a dozen squirrels, was down to three rounds for the Nylon 66. Found a ginormous porcupine though. Looked bigger than 100 squirrels.

Took three rounds to the noggin and kept on going, so I whacked it with the butt of the plastic .22.

After the butt broke off, I finished the job with the barrel, as I should have done in the first place.

You ever skin a porcupine?

It is a delicate process.

Well, porcupines eat the cambium (the inner bark) of evergreens, which is where turpentine comes from, and that's what they taste like. I tried a half dozen ways to eat that porcupine, but just couldn't choke it down.

I went back to fish. The cat I kept with me, though, loved it. It took Woolly Bear a week or so, but he ate every scrap of that nasty critter. About how long it took me to get all the quills worked out after the skinning.

To this day I don't eat much salmon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15