"Q" Chapter 8

in #fiction7 years ago



You might not believe it.


...............................................................................................................................................................................
(Present day)

“.....but...” I said, and I was as serious as a heart attack in an old folks home.”it’s True

Oh I believe you. ” she said “Now it’s my turn. About twenty thousand years ago the earth’s climate warmed up. The Continental Glaciers melted and the sea level rose. All of the cities on the continental shelves were soon covered with water. You may have heard of the last one.?

Atlantis.” I whispered.

VERY GOOD.” she said in a voice that made every boy ecstatic. Mommy was pleased.

We were already a space faring people. We had been for a hundred thousand years, since the LAST warm period. That time, when the glaciers came many of us moved away from the ice onto the newly dry continental shelves. We lived there for over a thousand centuries. Then the glaciers melted...and life on the planet wasn’t fun any more. Those of my ancestors who were still dirt side left. Yours and the others didn’t.” she said with a frown.

Stubborn lot were they”...I asked.

That too” she said still frowning.”it cost them dearly. Their surviving descendants reverted to savages and worse. Only one race of man survived on earth...that would be yours.

Wait a minute.” I interrupted. “You mean you’re not human?

Look me in the eye and ask me that again” she said. Her vertical pupils looked JUST like those of a cat. Then she grinned. “I’m teasing you. Actually I am human. The eyes, among other enhancements and augmentations, are genetically engineered. I’m a genie.

My dream.” I said with a grin.

She looked puzzled so I explained “Old TV show named ‘I dream of Jeannie‘. I was in lust with the female lead when I was a child.

Ah...” she smiled “that’s cute. Actually I’m as human as you are BUT... You’re a HomoSap I’m something else. There were other races of man that existed before the glaciers melted the last time. Your scientists have found fossils of a few and named them Homo Floresiensis, Homo Erectus, Homo Neanderthals to just name three. There were others.

Races?” I asked “Don’t you mean species?

Nope” she said ”We can interbreed. That means we are of the same species. Also, your scientists were confused because they just assumed that they had found the remains of natural species. They were wrong. We had genetic engineering even then. We made our selves then, as we do now, to our OWN specifications.



Previous Chapter
The Beginning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99