“Q” Chapter 48

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



On December of 1835: New York city burned.


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

Much of lower Manhattan was destroyed. The whole city might have been incinerated had not the buildings on Wall Street not been intentionally blown up by charges of gunpowder thus setting a firebreak which created a rubble wall, protecting the remainder of the oncoming flames.


(present day)

In the here and now, however,

I was laughing so hard my that my sides were about to split.

“Kitty erased everything in their records that pertained to me?” I asked for the third time.

“Yes Sir” She said again.

“They had exactly nothing on me when they came to get me the second time?” I asked again.

“And they STILL don’t have anything” I said. "I didn’t say one word to them after I left here.”

“No Sir.” She said.” Kitty erased those recordings too...they have nothing. Zip, zilch, nadda.

“And I didn’t tell that gal Shaniqua nothing either. Except for some stories about my childhood and my middle name.” I chuckled.

“No Sir.” she said. "you did not. I was listening. and ‘Dale’ is very common. There are over 300 thousand people in the US with that name. Not all of them are men either.”

“Well isn’t that sweet. I wonder what the reporter will do” I asked.

“What can she do Sir?” Jenny asked "All you did sir, was to accept a ride home which she offered, in front of witnesses, with no prompting on your part. You had no idea that someone had called her on the phone and promised a juicy story”

“That’s right. You should have seen the look on her face when I told her that. Well I guess you did with these new specs I have. They do have that capability don’t they?” I asked.

“Yes sir.” she replied.

“ I thought so. So you saw that first she showed utter disbelief, then disappointment, then anger. Then she tossed her drink in my face and stormed out. Lucky for me it wasn’t hot coffee. She was drinking some kind of icky, sissy stuff. Carrot juice, or celery, or something slimy. It took almost a whole roll of paper towels in the store’s bathroom to wipe it off.” I was still laughing.

“Thanks for sending the smart-wheel to get me” I said "it’s only a mile from here but I still appreciate it, and it certainly made getting up the stairs easier.”

“Your welcome Sir” Jenny replied.


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45