“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 56: Tribal Office


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

There was a cell phone tower behind it. At first glance it didn’t look any different than any of the hundreds of such towers that she’d seen all over the country. It was rather tall but that was all.

Then she looked closer and gasped. Rising behind the building was a faintly sparkling ribbon. At first she thought it was one of the guy wires for the tower but something was wasn’t right. The angle was wrong. It wouldn’t intersect with the tower. It went MUCH higher than it’s apex.

She could barely see it because it blended in with the sky so well. It went up and up and UP. MUCH higher than the top of the com - tower. The higher it went the harder it was to see.

When she reached the top she was almost leaning over backwards. She gasped at what she saw. Ever so faintly she barely saw other lines in the sky. There were several of them. She couldn’t make out what they were but she was getting a crick in her neck from looking up.

She started to go inside but she noticed a small sign beside the door, where it could NOT be missed.

Guns
are welcome on these premises
Please keep all weapons Holstered
unless the Need arises.
In such cases,
Judicious Marksmanship is appreciated.

.....she thought that was very interesting.

“A very large, very dark man was standing behind a counter near the door. It even had a cash register, how quaint. It had been a LONG time since she’d seen one of those. He wasn’t black like she was but he was a very dark shade of brown.

He was HUGE.

“Welcome. I don’t believe I know you. Do you have Tribal Business or would you like to have something to eat or drink? Is your car broke down up the road perhaps? How can I help you today? My name is Roy Brown. I’m the Chief,chief cook and bottle washer and restaurant manager.

Shaniqua blinked, she was somewhat overwhelmed. "You wear a lot of hats.”

“Yes ma’ am I do. That’s not all of them either.” Roy said.

“Oh...I believe that I will have something to eat. I’m not nearly as versatile a you are but I’ve fired a number of employees recently and I’m doing the work that they were supposed to be doing. I just realized that I’ve worked up an quite the appetite by doing so. I shall accept your offer of food.”

“ Very well. Would you like a table? Would you prefer ringside or the balcony?” The big man said.

“Yes.” she said "I believe that I would.” Ringside?


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

upvoted like always <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82