Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 28: Interlude - 4


....................................................................................................................................................................................

In the Snow Cave



“I’m confused” BubbaCat growled

“Me too” Maverick hooted. “you mean things were different in the past? The Bifrost Bridge hasn’t always existed? Who’s this Troglodyte that you speak of?”

“What’s a SHATTER? What’s the COOLING?” growled BubbaCat.



“...and other ‘stuff’” hooted Maverick.”Like...how come why for, haven’t we seen other’s like us?”



“As far as I know there ARE no others like you and Bubba, not exactly. Don’t you recall your nest mates?” I asked Maverick.

“Not really.” Maverick replied. “All I really remember is you, Gretchen and Bubba. Everything else is kind of vague.”

“What about you Bubba? Do you remember your litter mates? You were older than Maverick when we joined up.” I asked.

“Barely. Like a dream. A dim dream.” Bubba replied.




“ There you have it. To the best of my knowledge you two are pretty much unique. You’re special. There may not be any other’s like you” I said

“Or like us…” Gretchen told me privately. “But I doubt it.”

“Huh?” I said. That was a new idea. ”What do you mean?”

“We can talk about it some other time.” She replied “These two are engrossed in the tale.”

I nodded and returned my attention my boys. Gretchen and I could talk anytime. The boys had settled down some. Children like to be told that they are special. It was only the truth. They were special, but they still had questions. They wanted to KNOW.

“All in good time, children, all in good time. Eventually all of your questions will be answered. We have time.” I continued. “Isn’t that right Gretchen”

“Certainly” Gretchen replied. “I depend on you for my existence. I intend to keep you around for a long, long time. I’ve grown rather fond of these two brats also. I’ll do the same for them. Tesla Tech has opened up a brand new vista. I’m still evaluating all the possibilities”

I was evaluating that particular bit of information myself when Maverick hooted.

“What’s that?”

“What’s TeslaTech?” growled Bubba.

“Patience Children, patience. I’ll get to that.” I chided. “Let me continue with my story.”


To Be Continued

The Next Episode is
Part 29: Interlude - 4 (continued)…
The Last episode was
Part 27: Troglodyte…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm


I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
This book is available from Amazon on Kindle
If you can’t wait to finish it on Steemit
I have other books on Amazon also
I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56