TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



# 11: Naomi - PowWow

..............................................................................................................................................

..................................

After they had eaten it was time for a pow-wow.

“I’ve given it some thought” Naomi told Julie “I’ve decided that the best thing for us to do...is just keep on keeping on.”

“You mean because I’m stuck in a wheel-chair don’t you?” Julie said quietly.

“It is what it is.” Naomi said “ Innovate....”

“............Adapt and Overcome.” Julie finished somewhat enthusiastically. She sounded a bit less depressed.

“That’s my girl.” Naomi said “oh...one more thing”

“What’s that?” Julie asked

“I think I’ll make a call” Naomi said

Julie was confused. They didn’t have a phone. In fact they didn’t even have electricity. All of the utilities had gone away several days ago.

“To who and how?” she asked.

“I’m surprised you would ask that” Naomi smiled. “I’m gonna call the Wiz of course.”

“Oh yeah.” Julie said “You’re sweet on him aren’t you?”

“CERTAINLY NOT!” Naomi faked outrage. “I only met him once...and that was years ago. Besides he's a ...............er.”

“He’s a crip....” Julie finished. For a moment she was sad...then she brightened up. “And so am I..but I’m not letting that stop me.”

“Sorry...” Naomi apologized “But that’s not what I meant.”

“What did you mean?” Julie asked.

“He’s an old white guy.” Naomi stuck her nose in the air theatrically. “NOT my type.”

“Yeah right.” Julie said

“We’ll speak no more about it.” Naomi pontificated.

“Yeah right.” Julie replied “Should I leave the room while you talk to your sweetie?”

“That will NOT be necessary” once more Naomi faked outrage. “ And he’s NOT my sweetie.”

....................................

“Well that was certainly interesting” Naomi said when the ‘call’ was completed.

“What’s that?” Julie had hung on to every word. Nothing unusual had been said as far as she could tell. The world as they new it was ending...so what was new?

“You may have missed the part about ‘we’re all gonna die’ “ Naomi replied.

“You left off a word.” Julie said.

“Yeah what?” Naomi was proud of her gal...nothing slipped past Julie.

“IF” Julie said “IF we don’t do something we MIGHT die.”

“Well yeah” Naomi said “So what do you have in mind?”

“Well...as you well know.” Julie sniffed “ while you were ca-noodling with your sweetie I was downloading data.”

Naomi played the game...she knew perfectly well what Julie had done.

“And?” she said “have you discovered anything interesting?”

“Oh yeah” Julie replied

“Well don’t keep me in suspense!” Naomi told her niece “What should we do?”

“Build a lifeboat out of SSmoke” Julie told her “Duh!”

Naomi thought about that for...about a half second “ Yeah..that’s not a bad idea. I think we’re the only one left in the building.”

“I think you’re right” Julie agreed. “When the power and the other utilities went out...every one else just left.”

“Are you thinking what I am?” Naomi asked

“Yup” Julie giggled.

“What?” Naomi asked her.

“Rape, Pillage and Burn.” Julie had a thing for Vikings...gawd only knew why.

“The sequence is important” Naomi told her. “but I hate to burst your bubble..but since everyone is gone..there is no one to rape...and burning the building we live in would be a rilly bad idea.”

“Yup..” Julie smiled

“So that leaves pillage’ Naomi smiled...she’d caught on.

“Perhaps we should make a new drone?” Julie asked her.

“I didn’t see THAT coming “ Naomi responded.

“Silly,” Julie said “It’s the logical thing to do. Pillaging the rest of the building is going to be HARD work. We don’t have any testoserone crazed young males to do it for us so...”

“Make a drone to do it instead?” Naomi raised one eyebrow in query...she’d been working on that for a long time..finally she got a chance to use it.

“Exactly right” Julie said..” And I just happen to have some plans. They were in the info-dump I was just looking at. Look at this.”


Naomi jumped back a foot.

“Yeah...” she said after she had regained her composure. “Yeah..the very thing. That should work out very well.”

“I thought you’d like it” Julie said. “we ‘fab’ a small herd of them. They’ll strip everything out of the building like a school of piranha’s strips the meat off of a cow.”

“What do you know about piranha’s” Naomi asked her.

“I saw a documentary about them once” Julie said “ National Geographic I think...on netflics perhaps.”

“WhatEVER you say dear.” Naomi replied. “Let’s get to it.”

......................................................

“This plan better work.” Naomi said a few weeks later.

“Yeah...” Julie agreed...”or?”

“Or we’re gonna die” Naomi replied. “I’m serious. The water is several floors high on the building. If it keeps rising like it has been it’ll be over the top pretty soon.”

“yup..and then we launch” Julie was cool as a cucumber. “Have you got everything onboard?”

“Well yeah” Naomi replied “It’s been loaded for weeks”

“It’s the waiting that get’s you” Julie said.

“Yeah” Naomi agreed. Sometimes she was in awe of Julie. Naomi was a vet..and yet her niece often as not seemed more like one than she did.

........................
The Next Episode will be
#12: Henry Drake - Boring is Good…
The Previous Episode was
#10: Naomi - Bad Times Are Coming
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.

Sort:  

I liked that, i've been waiting to see those two in action. Steady as a cucumber that Julie is, and Naomi still got the hots for the wiz.

From the previous chapter we find Naomi and Julie, who are looking for alternatives to survive, in a building that floods and the water is constantly increasing. I wonder, at what point will Wilbur's world cross Naomi and Julie? Well, that's what I would expect ... Waiting for the new chapter ...

Nice post...i love this...steem on

Fascinating👍👍

Nice one, everittdmickey. Wish you keep posting such stuff. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15