Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 34: Stop for the night


....................................................................................................................................................................................




I’m not a people person. As I’ve noted I’m more of a Lone Wolf kinda guy. Even so I feel the need to be around people sometimes. I think being shot up by those Bandits might have had something to do with it but I’m not sure. At any rate…after only a couple or three thousand miles that day, I felt a need to get out of the truck.

“Trog” I said…”are there any truck stops near here?”

“Checking” he said, then almost instantly “Google maps indicate that there is one two exits ahead.”

“Three questions.” I said “Can we get to it easily enough? Has it got a big enough lot for you and does it have restaurant.?”

“Yes, Yes and Yes” Trog replied.

“Good enough…we’re stopping. I’m hongry…and I want to hassle a waitress. Maybe they got a purty one.” I said as I got up, and made myself presentable.”Give Mary a heads up will you? Play nice while I’m inside. Don’t kill anyone without a damn good reason.”

“Roger that” he said “I’ve informed Mary…she will comply.”

I put on my legs and dressed up real pretty. No reason to scare anyone, much. And I did, and we did…and they did, and she did. For some values of not scary, easy enough, big enough, and purty…enough. Not a very high bar…at that point she only had to be female. Come to think…perhaps that was even negotiable.

I was eager to meet some new people.


To Be Continued
The Next Episode Is
Part 35: I got stared at pretty hard walking across the parking lot.…
The Previous episode was
Part 33: First Day on the Bridge…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

fiction you can assemble and can be taken a few words to be a poem. good fiction.
but in the photo I see like a fish shelter. : D
I am just kidding. thank you for writing something.

a very great post kwan, I really like.

good writing
upvote done

Come to think…perhaps that was even negotiable.

LOL too funny!

keep going m8 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56