“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 101: When I Entered SkyHome


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

Shaniqua met me. Jenny and Kitty were nowhere to be seen. Her eyes were bright but she looked determined.

“Are you sure?” I asked her. She nodded.

The shower WAS nice. We stayed in it for a long time. Shaniqua rubbed my back...and ...well she rubbed me down pretty good other places too. I was all squeaky clean when we were done. Then we went for a swim in her pool, it had an inside part and an outside part that was open to the sky. The pool was as large a the ones they use in the Olympics only more interesting. We raced back and forth playing tag. Like I said I can out swim a sea lion. It was fun. Yeah...I showed off some more. I seemed to be doing an awful lot of that lately.

After that she had me stretch out and rubbed me down ...with oil. I need not go into any great detail here. Funny thing...she was making horsey noises the whole time. When we were done she was shaking like a leaf but smiling radiately.

“Better?” I asked her.

“Oh yeah.” she replied. "Catch me.”

She jumped into my arms. I only detected the barest amount of shiver when I caught her. She gave me a big kiss then wiggled to get down. I instantly set her on the floor.

“Better” she said. "Kitty said it might take a while to banish the last trace of that nasty phobia. I intend to practice with you frequently until it’s all gone.”

Then she looked at me. "How strong ARE you anyway?”

I shrugged. "I dunno. Pretty strong Kitty said that I was WAY stronger than a gorilla. Synthetic skeleton, fast twitch muscles, special joints, cybernetics and what not. That’s one reason my hands look like they do.”

I held out my hand to show her.

“I’d been meaning to ask you about that” she said. "It looks like you have a really bad case of rheumatoid arthritis. Does it hurt?

“Nope...my hands are supposed to look that way. The joints have been rearranged some and the bones are shaped a little bit differently is all. There are better attachment points for the tendons for better leverage and what not.”

“Oh...can I get stronger too?” she pleaded.

“Uh...yeah.” I said” But no where near as strong as me. Not without a full overhaul. I’m not sure you want to do that it...”

“....HURTS” she interrupted me. "Yeah...you said.”

“She can do it a little bit at at time” Jenny said to me. "One thing at a time instead of all at once. It’ll still hurt... a lot. The whole thing might take decades but it won’t be life threatening.”

“Oh yeah. I forgot that part. The full treatment is life threatening” I said to Shaniqua

“Life threatening?” Shaniqua repeated and looked at me.

“Ummm...yeah.” I muttered.” Only old folks can take the whole dose in one snort. Something about enzymatic residual build up. Kitty said it takes a long time to get enough for good odds of survival. I was barely old enough when I did it.”

“How old were you?” Shaniqua asked.

“mutter mutter.” I replied.

“I can’t HEAR YOU!” Shaniqua imitated a drill Sargent.

“He said he was 85.” Jenny said..” He lied..he was closer to ninety at the time.”

“Oh.” Shaniqua said.

She looked at me weirdly then smiled a funny smile. I never did find out what that was all about. She seemed less twitchy afterward though.


[ (https://steemit.com/fiction/@everittdmickey/65cgaz-q)
Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62312.95
ETH 2458.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65