“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter82: It Got WORSE


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

“It got worse.”
The Goddess mourned.

“How could it possibly get worse?” I asked.

“Not only did the Aliens indoctrinate the children they also intentionally infected them with a disease.” She said.

“What disease?” I asked "Smallpox? The plague? Cancer?”

“Much worse” she looked me square in the eye when she said "Old Age.”

“Old Age is a disease?” I hadn’t seen THAT coming.

“Yes...there is no biological reason to grow old and die.” she told me. "The Aliens intentionally infected your ancestors.”

I was numb with shock...then I began to get angry.

“Only a portion of the human race, even then, lived on the planet. Space is large and travel times are long so it took a while for the space dwellers to respond, but when we did it was decisive. We didn’t have a space navy. We didn’t even have the concept of war much less a military, but everyone was armed...even our spacecraft. The invaders did NOT expect that. There were GREAT battles.” Kitty said " Many of them were well documented and you can read about them today in myth and legend.”

“ Bu....Huh?” I’d started to Johnny Pop but stopped myself in time "I read a LOT, and I don’t recall any space battles.”

“Of course the accounts have been distorted.” Kitty said sadly.” The names have been changed to protect the guilty. In fact it was the first case of Orwellian double think practiced on earth that I’m aware of. The democrats are still using the technique even now. Psychologists call it ‘projection’. ‘Attributing your own qualities to other people’ I believe it is defined.”

"I suppose you think ‘Thor’ was an individual god?” she asked me.

“Well yeah” I replied " Him and his hammer.”

“That’s not the way it was” Kitty said "Thor was a mighty space ship...the hammer was a weapon’s system. Thor and the other ships, whom you know as gods, came rather late into the conflict. They made the difference though. They were successful. They wiped out the enemy armada in the battle of Ragnarok.”

“I thought Ragnarok was supposed to occur in the future.” I said.

“That, and a great many other details has been folded, twisted, and mutilated.” Kitty said. "There are multiple versions across various cultures too.The Assyrians wrote one of the first versions...on clay tablets no less, some of which are still in existence. I’ve mentioned the Norse version, Ragnarok, then there was the Christian Armageddon, the Apocalypse and various other Doomsday scenarios. All cultures have them. They depict what happened a long time ago, not something prophesied for the future.

“So what happened?” I asked " You say the good guys won the space battle?”

“Battles, there were many of them. The campaign lasted for centuries, but Yes” Kitty replied " while the space battles were occurring we also sent landing parties, contacted what pitifully few survivors of the invasion remained and set about reclaiming the planet. We’re still at it. The last alien was killed, we believe, during what you call the second world war.”

“Hitler’s fascination with the occult?” I said "That’s how Germany got all that high tech weaponry so fast? The aliens...”

“....were helping him. Yes.” Kitty agreed. " We finally found that bastard, and killed him and his nest. We think they were the last ones. The task of undoing the indoctrination remains. We’re making progress. The internets and the BlockChain are an immense help.”

“Curing the Age Virus is a little harder. We only have intermittent success. Until then the planet born are quarantined with few exceptions.

“I’ll be taking you apart and putting you back together at almost the molecular level. That’s what it takes to eliminate the age virus. No planet borne who does not undergo a similar process will be allowed off planet.” She said. "We can’t risk infecting our children.”

“Is that why we never went back into space after Apollo?” I asked.

“Yup.” she nodded..”We warned off the Apollo astronauts. They relayed the message to the appropriate officials world wide. Robots are OK..but no people are allowed beyond low earth orbit. Anyone who ignored the warning was killed..”


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

pesky van allens !


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47