Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 42: Returning Home


....................................................................................................................................................................................


Soon I would be passing through the land of my birth. Way South Texas. It used to be called Old Mexico before they petitioned CROT for annexation. Now it WAS part of the Confederated Republics of Texas and proud of it. Best thing that ever happened to it since Cortez. Not that Cortez was good, far from it, he definitely hadn’t been, it had just been that long.

Things weren’t going well for me. I was worn to a frazzle. I wasn’t getting any rest. I was afraid to sleep. My wolf-legs were acting up.

It was driving me crazy, which wasn’t a very long WALK, so why drive?

I was even off my feed.

This had to stop. It was time for some Tex-Mex.

Most of the people I had grown up with had all died and been buried long past. That’s the bad thing about growing old alone and traveling ….everyone you knew…died while you were gone. A trucker has no life but travel. Some of my old haunts still remained standing, however. Rosetta’s Hacienda would be here to welcome the glaciers.


To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 43: Rosetta's Hacienda
The Previous episode was
Part 41: The Grin
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

most welcome man!!!

thank you <3 unfortunatelly dont have friends on steemit to make them follow you :(

We are used to seeing those types of thunder in Bangladesh

great post ,,,,,,,
you are a wiseman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33