TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#131 - She Wants SeaFood

..............................................................................................................................................

“SeaFood?” The two men turned at the sound of a feminine voice. The dragon avatar that was speaking was sitting on the shoulder of a slightly built asiatic lady standing beside them. She had been passing by but had stopped at their table when Henry had (almost) shouted Seafood.

“Ma’am?” he said.

“My apologies Sir” the avatar said and it and the lady bowed politely “I don’t mean to intrude. It so happens that I am involved in a venture that could use a steady supply of sea food. I just happened to be walking by when I heard you mention it. Hence my curiosity.”

“NOT a problem” Henry said, once again speaking much too loudly. “Please join us. We’d love to talk to you about it. Wouldn’t we Wilbur?”

“Certainly.” Wilbur said, somewhat more cautiously. He’d just noticed her scar and wondered if that was why her Avatar spoke for her. She definitely looked formidable. That scar across her face and throat could tell a tale that he didn’t want to hear.

.............
(much, MUCH, later)

“How’d that happen?” Henry asked after TigerMom had gone.

“I’m not really sure. “ Wilbur reflected “She did seem really, really interested in some sea food though didn’t she?”

“TigerMom’s are formidable women. When they latch onto an idea they’re like pit bulls and won’t let it go.” Henry said.

“TigerMom?” Wilbur said. “That word sounds familiar.”

“You don’t want to mess with ‘em” Henry said “Worse than Nuns.”

“I think I’ve had enough Beer” Wilbur said. He shuddered. He had encounters with Nuns as a child. Scarred him for life they had. To this day he flinched every time he saw a ruler.

“Yeah.” Henry agreed “Time for Whisky.”

“Exactly” Wilbur replied.

.............
later
in fact it had gone from late to early.

“Wonder how she got here?” Henry wondered after the cute little waitress had brought them some whisky. “Before the flood this was a river through the middle of farmland.”

“Who knows.” Wilbur said “I’m sure there’s a story. Don’t you want to hear TigerMom’s story?”

“No.” Henry said instantly.

“Quick reply.” Wilbur said

“I needed exactly zero time.” Henry said “She scares the hell outa me.”

“Me too.” Wilbur agreed.

“You’re waffling.” Henry said, switching the subject, in midstream as only truckers can do, to talk about something they had been talking about hours earlier.

“Yeah” Wilbur replied, not thrown off stride in the least. He had been a trucker too. “I like it here. I actually build Fluffy’s...er..that would be Carbon Harvesters . I helped build yours. I’m working on some others too. It’s a fun job. I really don’t want to go, but I got the damn itch. It won’t let me be.

sigh Yeah. Welcome to my world. I get the itch anytime I stay in one place for more than a few days. I about went nutz on that damn bridge. The scenery...it just sat there. It never changed. Maddening.” Henry said.

Wish I could help you. I have the Retribution but its optimized for carbon mining. I don’t think she’d be very good at fishing.” Henry continued.

“I can fix that.” Wilbur told him “ Outfitting Kraken’s and installing Fluffy’s in them is what I do.”

“Krakken?” Henry raised an eyebrow.

“Well ya see...we had these big old things we called Kraken’s because they had tentacles. The tentacles was convenient for a bunch of things. The fabricator was originally built into a mobile platform that Cody had designed as a kid. He called it Fluffy. “ He took a sip of whisky.

“So you stuff Fluffies up the Kraken’s ...ahhh......that would be INTO the Krakens.” Henry laughed “ Sounds Perfectly reasonable.”

“Yeah” Wilbur pretended to sulk. “Kinda like tampons in a way.”

THAT caused Henry to almost spill his whisky from laughing. When he recovered he glared at Wilbur.

“Spilling my whisky would have been alcohol abuse.” he said.

They continued to talk past dawn.

........................
The Next Episode Is
#132 : Talk Through the Night…
The Previous Episode was
#130: Old Times…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Long night of whiskey social gathering ... apparently, it seems that Wilbur and Henry will join together for seafood fishing and will sell them to TigerMom for her new restaurant ... a commercial community around the Banana Slug begins to be woven.

TigerMom? That scar across her face and throat...?

A new team in the makings, a new partnership. The Kraken Brothers Fishing Trollers. Seafood is us. A little bit more of the water world to be explored, most likely don't have to far to go to the Gulf, a lot of low land areas to the south of them.

Exclusive PROMO

Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
CLICK HERE TO JOIN

good information.love to read it....It helpful for me. I have some steem loan. I really need it. God bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44