Wintry Fingers

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

MVIMG_20180309_114750_exported_stabilized_6082645242670782870.gif

The fire crackles in the miniature fireplace. I throw all of my snow-soaked gear nearby to roast. There's not much time left in the day.

I need this break though, I'm exhausted from my narrow escape. It was a lucky break to find this empty cottage, but where is the owner? I shouldn't stay long.

Is there any food in here? Rummaging through the cabinets, I find it cleaned out except for cans of expired cat food. Why is it always cat food?

Before I have time to ponder, I hear the wind outside howling, as if in pain.

MVIMG_20180309_113556.jpg

As I look out the window, I notice the curved icy fingers poking out of the eaves, rattling a bit as the wind shook the roof. Odd. Was that there before?

Shrugging it off, I rest near the fire, soaking in the welcome warmth of the fire. Not too long, not too long....

Creak.

My eyes shoot awake. No, no, no, no... The fire is down to embers now. Looks to be still bright outside. I swear those icy tentacles have grown too.

I put on my gear and prepare to leave.

Meow.

There's a cat here all along? Where? A deeper fear sets in.

Meow.

Cautiously, I wander towards the sound. It looks to be near the front door.

I briefly spot the tail of the cat as it darts past the doorway. The front door is also slightly ajar.

Hiss! Screech! Then a brief silence, followed by crackling noises.

MVIMG_20180309_114019.jpg

The eerie crackle still haunts me in my sleep. Quickly, and as quietly as possible, I bolt out the back door and into the crisp outdoor air. I need to warn the others.


steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_tax.png
eonwarped_red.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income-- MannaBase
Sort:  

Nice writing, great buildup. Awesome images too.
Lol, scary cat :)

Thanks. The images are from a brewery, but I figured I can have a bit of fun with it!

you did great :D

Cats make for great creepy characters

You are great writer, its interesting.

Cat Emperor? Is That You?

No the cat emperor is parked snugly on your keyboard :P

good one... the cat lady owner of the cottage will not be too happy with you badmouthing her beloved cat

I didn't bad mouth any cat :o

Oooo this is different! I actually felt a little cold reading this.
Awesome ♡

This is why I am a dog person! Awesome fiction piece Eon!

Had to laugh at the cat emperor comment of Max hahaha

Great job, i wanted an ending. photos are great and the cat was def creepy.

Eagle UpComm.jpg

You got a 13.89% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @eonwarped!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34