Me, Aunt Bea, and Some Candy Corn (Part 2)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Bea2.png
The following is a work of fiction in several parts. You'll find the other parts on my blog.

Part 2


“Just because you failed once at marriage doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try again,” said my Aunt Bea.

Was it Thursday already? I had barely arrived at her retirement home. Here she was digging into me hard already about the marriage thing. And she’d made it 82 years without ever marrying, so she must be some expert.

I knew she was trying to get me hitched again, probably to her nurse. She usually left this subject until the end of our visit, but now she had picked up right where we left off last time. This was not a good sign.

“We didn’t fail, Aunt Bea. Sometimes, marriage isn't permanent. I loved Serena, but we grew in different ways. That’s life. Just happens sometimes.”

“Well, if you ask me, that broad didn’t know what was good for her,” said Bea. “You’re a fine young man even if you do that Inter Net for a living.”

“It wasn’t her fault, Auntie. I wasn’t entirely faithful. Neither was she. We finally admitted the truth: that we were better off not being together.”

My aunt Bea looked away at the mention of cheating. Such talk embarrassed her. I thought I’d change the subject.

“Why have you never married, Aunt Bea?” I asked. In the past, she’d had a canned response of being too busy and I expected it again.

Instead, when she turned to me, I saw a single tear roll down behind her glasses.

“When you truly love someone, you want to be with that person the rest of your life,” she said. “I was not fortunate enough to marry.”

At 82, my aunt was still a cheerful and graceful woman. I had a hard time believing that the younger Bea had lacked for opportunities. Unless, of course, she had tried to convert every suitor to jazz. That would have sent some of them running for the hills. But even if she had, there must have been good men in her heyday who were jazz guys.

“I loved a man once, you know,” Bea added.

I hadn’t known. This was new information. Was it the beginning of a story she had held inside these many years?

“Then you are fortunate,” I gambled. “Some people never know what it is to love.”

Another tear dripped down her other cheek. I reached for one of Aunt Bea’s handkerchiefs and put it in her hand. She ignored the gesture, lost in thought.

“It was all about the music,” she said. “Young people don’t understand what it meant to us in those days. Jazz was in the clubs every night. And that music was more important to us than life or death.”

“I moved here for the jazz,” she continued. “Now there’s only one radio station left. And they play cheeseball songs.”

I laughed a little, hoping for a light moment to break the gloom. And Aunt Bea smiled just a little. But I remembered hearing “cheeseball” from her before. In Bea’s vocabulary, it was her way of saying something sucked. So her comment was still serious.

“Dean loved the jazz, too. He played the sax.”

Dean. Dean. My thoughts raced to identify anyone I had known with that name. And then suddenly, it clicked into place.

No way! Dean and Delilah were Aunt Bea’s neighbors for decades, probably the only black family in her neighborhood. They had raised a family in the house next door. And Aunt Bea had been like an aunt to their kids also.

“Your neighbor Dean?” I ventured. My mind conjured an image of the Dean I remembered meeting. Confident, assured, handsome. His face had reminded me of Andre 3000 with a wider jaw and glasses.

Aunt Bea nodded. “Neighbor. Gentleman. One heck of a saxaphone player. And the only true love I’ve ever known.”

My jaw must have been wide open. I couldn’t believe this.

“But you must have lived next to Dean and his wife Delilah for decades. She was your friend also.”

“Yes, she certainly was,” said Aunt Bea. “But Delilah never knew about Dean and me. We stopped, of course, before they got married. It was the right thing to do. But it tore me up that I could never have that man. At that time, it, it…”

Please tune in again soon for Part 3 on my blog.

This is a fiction series in several parts. The remainder will be coming soon to a blog near you. The image above is public domain. It's not really my aunt, since I've never had an Aunt Bea and I'm not really the person in the story either. It's fiction.

Sort:  

An interesting sequel, my friend and the theme of marriage and love always cause excitement and the Aunt Bea was visited by this feeling of memories of love, you immediately feel her inner world at this moment, especially since she went to hide her love from everyone and as you can see jazz music played in it your role! Thank you @donkeypong

P.S. I apologize, in the last post reading the first part I did not understand that this is a fantastic story :)

Yes, it makes more sense (hopefully) when you read the parts in order.

Friend, how are you? Although this story is fiction, it is very close to reality since all older people have a story or many to tell, and if they were single, then the story is accompanied by feeling.

For sure. We can learn a lot of listening to older people's stories.

I came to this post by image and title, and I find myself with a beautiful story that, thank God, is just beginning. It is beautiful that the aunt has this moment of confession with her nephew. It must be meaningful for her to speak of her first and only love, especially after a long time and under these circumstances. She is telling her a secret, perhaps the most precious for her. I see, from the narrator's mention, the story will have its touches of music. I like that. I'm a fan of good Jazz! I'm going to have to read the first part to find out the beginning of the story. Thank you for sharing

Aha, a real jazz fan! Maybe you'll appreciate that part then. :)

Here we go with part number 2

I like Aunt Bea, "Just because you failed once in marriage does not mean you should not try again" These words are very true, Aunt Bea is very wise and has lived many things because of her age, there are people who fail In a marriage or courtship you do not want to try again, you get frustrated and if at the beginning it is painful but we must recover the faith

Not all of us get married maybe because of the siscurtality of life or just because our heart only loves someone

Very great story.Without married life spend is to be difficult.Anti Bea looks so beautiful.Aunt bea 82 year old.All older peoples are so intelligent.Aunt bea says marriage isn't permanent.She is ryt.But life partner cares you.More time spend you in your life.Anti bea crying.That is so sad.True love never die.You spend your life with your love.Anti bea love someone.Really very interting and amazing story.Thanks for sharing.I really like your stories.@donkeypong.

Hi @donkeypong ,hope you are fine, indeed older people are our true assets. We can learn a lot from their life and their experiences.
The aunt bea was shedding some tears mean she was in love with someone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Brother a pleasure to greet you, continue this story of Aunt Bea, I want aunt Bea to my side for sure I will have much to learn from her, while I read the story I imagine her sitting telling me her story.

Greetings from Venezuela!

OMG! What was that?? I could literally sense that tears in my eyes too. I think you should marry once again @donkeypong. Aunt Bea has so much experience and true emotion coming out of that experience. Though it is a fiction it doesn't seem like one. God bless you and Aunt Bea!!

Haha. It's fiction. That's not me in the story. The real me has been happily married for many years.

Wow! That's great to hear!
You should plan on making some short films with these fiction stories. I'm sure people get connected.

They're not that good, but thank you.

Well, what a great story, I'm really shocked, you are really writing it with your hand? If yes then I really appreciate this Mr @donkeypong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66