Don't Fry Your Chickens All In One Bucket [Flash Fiction]

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

The fat man bites into a drumstick. Sweat beads his brow. Flecks of spit and crunchy chicken skin fall out of his mouth and onto his chin. He wipes his lips with the sleeve of his black suit jacket.

“Here.” The fat man slides the large bucket of chicken towards Andy.

“No thank you, sir.”

The fat man smirks and bites into the juicy meat. Having polished off a drumstick he grabs a wing. He expertly slides all the meat and skin off the bones with one big slurp.

Andy watches the spectacle with dread. There are two other men in the near-deserted diner—two big goons in stripped suits standing by the doors.

The fat man, finally satisfied with his meal, slides back his plate. He stretches back his arms on the plush red diner booth cushioned backrest.

“Well, Andy. Looks like you owe me thirty grand.”

“Yes, sir.” Andy looks down in his lap.

“Now, I know you ain’t got that much dough.”

Andy nods.

“So what do you suppose I do, Andy? I run a business here. It’s not my fault you’re a goddamn degenerate gambler.”

“I’ll make the money back, I swear. I just need a few more days.”

The fat man chuckles. The chuckle turns into a loud laugh. He keels over, wheezing and pounding his fist against the table. Chicken bones dance with the thump of his fist.

The fat man wipes a tear from his eyes.

“That’s a good one. Now listen up, this is what we’re gonna do.” He motions towards the two goons at the doors.

They make their way over to the booth.

“Please sir, please. Don’t. I got a girl and dog, I got a family. I’ll do anything.”

The fat man holds up his palm. The men stop.

“Anything?”

“Yes. Anything.”

The fat man grins. There are chunks of chicken flesh stuck in his teeth.

He slides the bucket of chicken and plates off to one end of the table. He produces a silver briefcase. He dials in the combination and lays it in front of Andy.

Andy’s eyes go wide.

In the open briefcase lay two large blocks of white powder. Cocaine.

“I guess you were always destined to be my drug mule.” The fat man’s evil grin fights through his fat greasy cheeks.


This is the first "freewrite" I'm posting on steemit. Was about a 10 minute freewrite sprint and then it went through a few small rounds of editing.

I've been taking a long time between stories, polishing/editing them for days and weeks sometimes, and I think it'll be good to get some more fun fluffy flash out there.

It's based on this fried chicken freewrite prompt from @mariannewest.

If you like it please let me know and maybe I'll post more in the same vein ☺

Image Source

Sort:  

This is a very intense little story! You did a great job of building the tension. I love flash fiction, and have been doing the same—writing them here and there to take a break from working on the longer, more polished stories. It’s very freeing!

Thank you @jayna! I'm glad the little progression and tension in this piece came through.
And I agree, writing some flash in-between bigger works is very refreshing :)

yes, you can post more.

Think I just might.

You delivered the scene expertly, particularly the fat man's eating. Excellent.

Thank you for the kinds words @poet
I had a very clear picture of the fat man in my head, at least his face and the chicken.

Great little read. I really liked the descriptions, I could visually see what you laid out in words. The dialogue was smooth as well.

Thank you @naquoya, glad you enjoyed it and that the visuals and dialogue came across :)

Poor Andy! He's never going to be able to look at chicken the same way again. Oh, and now he has to work for a drug lord? Great work using the chicken to showcase how disgusting the fat man is!

Today's prompts are brought to you by a frisky pack of gremlins. Please be advised, they are drunk and stealing everyone's spoons.

Freewrite Day 120 - Vitamins

Thank you for the encouraging words @brisby! Really enjoyed this prompt and looking to tackle some more.

I felt like I was sitting there, watching fatso eat... yuck. Very well done. for sure, write more :)

Damn fatso loves his fried chicken :)
Thank you for providing great prompts everyday @mariannewest, I'll have to do some more.

You literally could sense the deep fried vibes in this post
well done!
b.a.

I was so fixated on the fried chicken prompt I couldn't help myself @battleaxe
Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cizzo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh my gosh! I had no idea this was a freewrite! This is crazy cool and I lowkey wanted more! Nice!

Thank you @caleblailmusik! I usually have a little bit of the scene or some particular image mapped out in my head before a freewrite so that might be cheating a bit :)

gasps Cizzo! :P I think that’s okay, I don’t know the freewrite rules.

Okay, first off, your descriptions of the fat man eating the chicken just makes his whole creepy personality shine through... maybe a little too well!!!

Great freewrite!
@byn

The image of the fat man was very clear in my mind, maybe a bit too much :)
Thank you @byn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23