Earth's Revenge.

in #fiction6 years ago

apocalypse-2459465_1280.jpg
Source

Everyone was warned but no one listened. The earth got tired of the carelessness of man and his total disregard for her and decided to wreak her veageance. Scientists across the globe knew disaster was at hand, they spread the news, mass destruction could happen anytime anyday but the world took it in stride. It was not the first time someone had predicted the end of the world, surely, this time would not be different. The truth was just too absurd to deal with.

Government of various countries showed concern and came together to find a solution but no one could tell exactly and how this wave of destruction would start. Besides, it was predicted it would all start in about a few weeks, too little time to do something meaningful.

I think deep down, no one believed the earth was going to be destroyed completely. Afterall, whenever such prediction came up, the earth always found a way to stay on her feet with just a few casualties.
It was the end of the world, religious leaders preached. They begged people to pray and turn from their wicked ways so the lord could turn away his hand of destruction. Some listened but most did not, rather, they mocked them.

Then the day dawned, it was so beautiful that morning as i looked out the window. I stretched luxuriously on my bed and wished it was not monday morning so i could sleep in. I dressed for work as usual and determined to take the day by the storm but my worls was about to get stormy...extremely stormy!

First, it became hot. I could feel beads of sweat running down my face and neck. I kept thinking this was unusual as i made my way to work. It was just a warning of what was about to take place.

The temperature skyrocketed, it was as if the sun had come down to earth. Ice caps melted, ocean patterns changed, everywhere was affected. There were floods, tsunamis, hurricanes, massive volcanic eruptions, earthquakes...think of any disaster and it was happening everywhere. The earth was being destroyed and its inhabitants along with it. Millions of people died that day.

There was no time to mourn, everyone alive searched for a means of survival. How i survived is a mystery. I cannot even explain it but survived an earthquake. As i stood at the edge of the open ground which had swallowed almost everyone i knew, i thought of the warnings. Surely, this could not be the end of the human race. Someone somewhere would have done something to ensure the survival of the rest of the human race!

Then, i felt a slight rumble beneath my feet and i scrambled back with fear believing it was starting all over again. The earth shook violently as they came out of the ground. These creatures inspired terror, they were horrible looking.

They were the colour of red earth, built like man but they were bigger, more like giants. They were ugly with flat faces with an eye in the middle of their forehead. As they came out of the ground, they stood upright turning their faces upward as if paying homage to the sun, next, they turned to sniff the air with their enormous nose. Their teeth looked razor sharp as they bared them at the sight of humans who were scrambling for safety. I was frozen in place as i watched them approach.

A baby lay on the ground crying for its mother who had abandoned her in search of safety. The leader of the 'army' of earth giants picked her up, sniffed the baby and threw it in its mouth, swallowing it whole. I watched the whole thing from my spot in the shadow of a collapsed building.

They advanced on the unfortunate humans and proceeded on a killing frenzy. They made no sound as they tore their victims apart, occasionally throwing parts into their mouth.

Once again i escaped their notice for reasons i did not know.

I waited for night to approach but it was a futile wait. The sun refused to go down for three whole days. I was tired, thirsty and hungry, i considered coming out of my hiding place but the flash of red earth within sight convinced me to stay put.

Surprisingly, the sun went down on the third day. I cautiously came out of my hiding place, staying close to the ground as i looked carefully around but all was quiet. There was no one in sight. The smell of rotting flesh which has been my companion for long hit me strongly as i saw bodies littered around. The creatures were nowhere in sight. I searched the whole town for survivors and found none.

I found food and water but no companion. I walked aimlessly in the cool of the night shedding tears at the destruction i could see.

Dawn found me at the edge of town taking shelter in the shade cast by a collapsed building when they came out again searching for humans to devour. They came close to where i was but passed me without a backward look. This went on for three days after which the sun went down. I came out of my hiding place this time with confidence.

There is a pattern here. The sun goes down every three days, the creatures are no lovers of the night and they don't come close to shadows. Staying close to the earth during the day would just be our chance of survival...that is if i can find others who had survived. I got a motorcycle and rode out of town in seatch of someone...anyone. My worse enemy would be a welcome sight right now.
I cannot be the last human on the planet...right?

Sort:  

@Cheekah, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Wow.. This is soo interesting, i could picture every scene in my mind. Well done!

#bigwaves

Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed reading.

Hello @cheekah, your post has been selected by our curation team and it will be showcased in the daily exhibition of TALP. The curators of The Alexandria's Library Project found your post to be outstanding and agreed that it is worth recognition.

We strive to find the best posts in matters of Philosophy, History, Science, and Literature. You can read more about the TALP initiative here. You can also join our Discord server in this link.

Best regards, Johanna.

Thank you...this means a lot.

Well done @cheekah! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - France vs Peru
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Such an entertaining piece of story @cheekah. I dont have much time to read fiction but your post kept my attention from the very beginning.

Great writing style mate. Big fat upvote on the way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85