You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Borderline Madness - Finish the Story Contest, WEEK 21

in #fiction6 years ago

The imagery! Not what I should read right before going to bed! Wow!
*Those wispy tendrils of night-clad armoured tails curled above toothy maws. Pyramidal heads with pale milky eyes and those broken backs, spines all wrong, seeming to pin them to the earth. *
Wow, wow, wow... and that is just ONE LINE....

Sort:  

I wote this just before bed and it had the strange effect of removing all the creeping horror from my mind and leaving me with light and airy dreams. Ha ha, I wonder if this is why the Clive Barker's of this world write horror? It's not because they have personal demons torturing their souls, just so they can get a good nights sleep ;-)

P.s. I'm glad you enjoyed the story Carol and I hope the nightmares were bearable.

P.p.s. I am in no way comparing myself to Clive Barker!!! I wish. He's just one of my fav horror authors is why I mentioned him.

If "Light and airy dreams" come to writers of horror, I must start writing gruesome scenes of violence and gore! Raj, this is an awesome insight. May I quote you to author Harvey Click, an Ohio university professor who gets me to read horror because his prose is just that good? I've never read Clive Barker. Harvey... "The Bad Box" .... only 99 cents at Amazon US (not sure about UK) ... just incredible. And yet Harvey, like our @raj808, is one of the nicest human beings you'll ever meet. This seems to be true of most horror writers. Maybe people who only write nice stuff are secretly the real villains...? {hahaha}

P.S. Nope, no nightmares after reading your vivid little scene! :) I've been taking 10 mg of melatonin every night before bed, and it's had the pleasant side effect of me not remembering my dreams. Husband doesn't need a pill for that: he almost never remembers his dreams, and he's the most well-adjusted, rational man I know. Funny, I hadn't even thought about it until now: I haven't remembered a dream for months!

May I quote you to author Harvey Click, an Ohio university professor who gets me to read horror because his prose is just that good?

Quote away @carolkean. I would be honored. I shall check out that book recommendation.

Nope, no nightmares after reading your vivid little scene! :) I've been taking 10 mg of melatonin every night before bed, and it's had the pleasant side effect of me not remembering my dreams.

Sometimes I think about trying melatonin as I remember 3-4 dreams per night on average and it leaves me in a state of perpetual half-lucidity in the waking world. Ha ha, at least that could be why I'm knackered and dreamy all the time. Strange thing is, I have had sporadic night terrors all of my life (although they have eased the last 5 years). The upshot of experiencing night terrors since I was a teenager, is that I can have the most horrific dreams but can usually dismiss them within 60 seconds of waking. The first minute is rather unpleasent but after that it's like casting off a heavy coat, it all just falls away. The fear, the faces, the creeping perspiration. It's all great inspiration for horror writing, and when I explore these dark undercurrents in writing, it is almost like exorcising them from my mind. No chance of night terrors after a session of horror writing. This is the only way I can explain it. It just seems to clear it from my subconscious.

Ha ha, deep philosophical stuff for a Friday ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34