You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love among the redwoods - a short story

in #fiction7 years ago

Wow. You captured so much here. I felt like I was reading her mind and willing her to listen to her gut! Not to repeat her parents mistakes... and then thinking of my mom and her 5 marriages, repeating the same mistakes over and over. And my own marriage and wondering how our kids and their relationships will turn out.

Holy beans, I guess you brought up a lot of emotion and thoughts in me. I felt like I got that same head rush feeling Franny did when she looked up into the trees as well.

Very cool writing.

@byn

Sort:  

Thank you, Byn. It's such a pleasure getting to know you. Thank you for sharing the bits. Wow, my goodness. Five marriages! I think people do tend to repeat mistakes over and over again. It's because it's comfortable and familiar. I also think that's why people leave an abusive or controlling relationship and end up in another one. It's not their fault; it's just all they know. This is one of the reasons I love writing fiction. It allows you to explore people's personalities and behavior patterns. And even when there's a familiar storyline, there are countless ways to tell it so that it resonates and makes us examine who we are.

Thank you so much for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62