I AM WHO I AM [A SHORT STORY]

in #fiction6 years ago

Rachael could no longer hide the anger boiling inside her. For the second time that night, she felt like slapping Richard. The first time she had the urge to do it was when he drank the juice from the plastic bottle without using the straw provided.

“Can’t you act civilized for once?” she made sure nobody heard her except Richard.

The young man looked at her, smiled, and continued eating. After defeating the pieces of meat trying to take over his teeth with a toothpick, he finally spoke up.

“If eating chicken with my bare hands is uncivilized, then I’m afraid I don’t know what ‘civilized’ means.”

He washed his hands in the only bowl on the table, shifted his chair forward, and faced her.

“You know it’s actually uncomfortable eating with a fork. It’s stressful and you won’t enjoy the chicken as much as I did. I believe the hands has its own flavor too. This chicken needs to be grabbed with both hands.” He pointed at the chicken on her plate.

“Stop embarrassing me, Richard. Look around you, how many people are eating with their hands?”


image
Pixabay

Although Richard knew finding someone eating with bare hands in Tatinz eatery is as difficult as finding a 40 year old virgin, he still looked around. The eatery was filled up as usual. The attendants kept going and coming, attending to people’s orders. He saw a lady eating Eba and Egusi soup with a spoon and that disgusted him. David was sitting not too far from him. He sat with Deborah, Rachael’s friend. When David looked at his direction, he winked at him and gave him a thumbs up.

“What was that for?” Rachael asked.

“A thumbs up can be used in place of saying ‘well-done’. Do I need to explain that?”

“Whatever! I’m sure you’ve finally realized you are uncivilized.”

Richard smiled and looked straight into her eyes.

“So, that woman eating a meal specifically made for the hands is civilized while I’m uncivilized because I ate a chicken the best way I will enjoy it?”

“Who said Eba is meant to be eating with bare hands?” she raised an eyebrow.

“Let’s not end our first date with arguments. I’m sorry. I’ll try a fork next time. You look beautiful when you argue though.”

Racheal couldn’t help but smile. She giggled like a monkey and was about saying something when Richard belched. She slapped him immediately.

“I’m still looking for the right adjective to qualify you. I should have known you came here to embarrass me.” She stood up and went to meet Deborah.

“I’ll be waiting for you in the car. Please hurry up!”

She cat walked out of the eatery not minding the billions of stares at her bum.

Richard knew a lot of people will be staring at him. Some might be taking pictures. He tried every possible best not to look anywhere else but his phone. He had never been slapped by a lady. He was more annoyed because it happened in a public place.

“I’m sorry this is my fault.”

He looked up and saw David staring at him with a sad look.

“Where’s your date?”

“The last thing I want right now is a slap. I had to send her away before I got one too.”

Both of them laughed and rose to leave.

Rachael was still fuming in the car. She was anxious to leave the place. When she saw Deborah coming, she became terrified because she had never seen her with an angry look on her face.

“I hope you have money for public transport? There’s no way you are going home with me. And let this be the last time we see.” Deborah said.

Rachael was shocked. She was surprised her friend could be mad because she slapped an uncultured guy.

“What’s wrong with you, Deborah? That guy is not my class and I’m sure his friend is below you too.”

“David is not his friend. They are brothers. I’m sure you are the only one that doesn’t know the governor’s sons. Do you know how long I’d planned meeting them? I should have brought Maria along, not you.”

Rachael placed her hands on her head. She got out of the car and ran inside the eatery. She bumped into the brothers on her way.

“You forgot something, Miss Civilized?” Richard asked.

“I’m sorry, Richard. I don’t know what came over me. I promise I will…..”

She was interrupted by Richard’s loud laughter.

David hissed and walked out. Richard followed suit and continued laughing. His laughter could still be heard when he entered his car.


@afolwalex writes.


Sort:  

Your post has been curated by the steemjetrecords

Cute story :D I love eating with hands myself when the food is traditionally made for hands to work with :D

Congratulations on your first curie :D

Hi afolwalex,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

An entertaining short writing, with a satisfying ending. Nicely done :).
                           
Congratulations on your first curie, afolwalex. Keep on being active and write some more and you might get another one in the future.

Thanks.
Now, I'm more confident I can get another one! I'm so happy about this.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Cool story @afolwalex!

Is your first name Alex?
Anyways, I like your screen name.

I guess eating using the hands is not uncivilized in some ways.

My first name is actually "walex" not "alex". Lol! A lot of people asked me that.

Thanks for reading.

You're very much welcome Walex!

And congrats for @curie upvote!
By the way, is there any requirements on submitting post to @curie for a chance of upvote?

You don't submit to them. They have many curators checking the required tags everyday. When they come across a post that worth being curied, they get to submit and deliberate on it before being upvoted.

Oh I see.
Thanks for the information Walex!
Have a great day!

Hi @afolwalex!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.533 which ranks you at #15586 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 89 places in the last three days (old rank 15497).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 284 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

She was a very stupid young lady! How could she slap a man in public? It's so wrong to slap him in private but public? Haba! She deserved to be ridiculed. I enjoyed this from start to finish bruv.

#Bigwaves

Lol!
I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Twas my pleasure

This is such a great example of how our society works. He was uncivilized until she has heard that he was a governor's son. Then she ran back to apologize to him. At least he didn't take it :)

He didn't behave very nicely during their first date neither though. But I must say I know people eating with their hands. It's a cultural things. I can't imagine myself doing it but I don't mind somebody eating with their hands unless they want to shake mine right after the meal, lol.

It was an enjoyable and funny story. I like their dialogues and the finish was very good!

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for reading. I'm glad you understood the message I tried passing. Hope to see you around. 😊

I don't know much but if that was the first date I can't see a second one happening.

Yes! You guessed right. Who would give her a second chance after what she did?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59