NO HELP REQUIRED - Almost, #food fight friday

in #fff5 years ago

With my better half deciding to take a little cat nap around dinner time and me as hungry as

bear eating.gif
https://tenor.com/search/bear-eating-gifs
I decided it was time to go it alone.

The Lamb chops had been taken out of the freezer earlier in the day, and they were calling my name.
Now, grilling is something I can do rather well. The lamb chops would not be a problem, although 3 for me and 2 for my wife just would not cut it. As stated earlier, I was REALLY HUNGRY, so I decided to take out the piece of chicken and the little bit of rice we had leftover from the night before. Just reheat and I may be able to appease my hunger while I prepared the real meal.
Mission accomplished, I would be able to cook tonight's dinner without drooling all over everything.

IMG_3059.JPG

As previously stated the chops would not be a problem, but the beet salad was another story.
This salad was going to consist of a mixture of different lettuce, some goat cheese, and the beets of course, it is a beet salad.
The problem would be making the dressing for the salad.
What was in it, and what amount of each ingredient should be used.
I knew the raspberry sauce we had made last year was part of the mixture.
Being that it was still frozen, I broke off a good hunk and defrosted it.
Next up was the vinegar, big question, how much.
Another question was, is that all that goes into this concoction.

Well, this is where the ALMOST found in the title comes in.
As I was getting ready to mix up the dressing for the salad, guess who woke up.
The very first thing she says is "you know that some olive oil needs to be added to the dressing.
After letting me know how much to use of each, I was back to being the man.
If you have a keen eye you will notice that there is no bottle of olive oil to be found in the first picture, but there it is in this pic.

IMG_3060.JPG

After dumping the dressing on the salad and TOSSING it, the perfect meal, almost total prepared by thebigsweed was ready to devour.
Tossing the salad, how do you like that cooking term.
I have never used that term before when mixing up a salad. To me, tossing something means to throw it, like a baseball, football, or basketball.
Now, really tossing the salad would have been a lot of fun, a real food fight indeed, but I was way to hungry for that.
That morsel of chicken I had eaten earlier was no longer satisfying my hunger!
IMG_3061.JPG

I know that my wife would like to give a shout out to both @dandays and @puravidaville, for those are the ones that got me involved with this thing you call cooking.
Heck, next time the master chef is away I may try something daring, rather then my home cooked go to meal, PBJ on toast.

Sort:  

Looks delicious! And the best art about cooking these days is you can just say hey Google how do you make raspberry salad dressing? And the answer will appear!

It was excellent. Google what ever your heart desires. I don't what we would all do if the internet ever went down.
thanks for stopping by!

I agree! Life would certainly be different if we did not have all this wonderful technology!

PB&J on toast sounds like heaven every single time I make it. Way to throw down in the kitchen @thebigsweed. Cooking and creating is fun, especially when the rule is “I cook you clean”. Happy food fight my friend, you’re killen it in the kitchen :)

@puravidaville PBJ good any time of day especially when the wife is away. Not intended, but that kind of rhymes, sounds like the beginning of a pretty good rap song.
PBJ when the wifes away
put it on rye and you'll remain a faithful guy
put it on white and have a good night
put it on wheat and you may hit the street.
eat PBJ when the wife is away
and wait for her to get back
then it's time to play.

Not bad for a Rock and Roll guy.

Duuuudeee… you killed it!
Put it on a cracker and feel yourself get happier
Eat it with a coke and share it with your folk
Shhh don’t tell the Mrs. she might become suspicious
Save some for later or you’ll pay the price, Eliminator…

I’d go on but it’ll probably get more ridiculous. Haha… who said us rock and roll peeps can’t rap? 🤷🏼‍♀️

You know it’s gonna be a fun kitchen when @thebigsweed and @farm-mom make an appearance. If I told you I’ll take a bowl of your undressed salad, would that be weird? 🤔 Yeah.. better add oil.

But! Have ever had a PBJOB on toast?

Always great to see your entries, sir. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If PBJOB means Peanut-butter and Jelly On Bread, yes I have indulged, but in PBJOB means Peanut-butter and Jelly Over Bacon, I must say that I have never had that one, but it sounds like it might work.
Undressed salad sounds fine to me, even without the oil. 😁

Hope you guys had a great weekend, we did.
Went to Jersey for the weekend and went to a Yankee game with with my son, daughter in-law. Granddaughter, and farm-mom.
Great time, first time at the new stadium @dandays.

I read about your Jersey trip—good times! I don’t know too many people who have been to the new one but I remember passing on several group trip to go catch a game at the old one before they demolished it. I’m glad ya’all enjoyed yourselves, Sweed.

Peanut Butter and Jelly, Oreo & Banana. 👍🏿

Good times indeed. Being a Yankee fan since I was knee high to a tadpole, I felt like a litle kid again, and that takes some doing.
Took a lot of pics, should make for a good post.
Never would have guessed Oreo & Banana.
It sounds a little gross, but i guess I shouldn't knock until i try it.
Hope all is well, and your adventure is playing out to be everything your dreams imagined!

You know.. I’m actually quite surprised by the way the size of this country got so small so fast. 🤔

We’re already online looking into new teaching gigs for Pura Vida like “what do you think of Germany?”... “what about Spain?” ...”Italy?”

I think our next landing point will have shores farther than 8 hours apart. 😉

Did you say knee high to tad pond?! Tadpole? Is that what you said? Ain’t knee-highs something the girls wear on their legs?! Ha!!

@thebigsweed
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 41
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

You did so well, but first I will touch on tossing the salad, i upset my first wife once whenI was helping her to prepare a meal with friends, She was doing a last minute organizing of the dining room and I asked if i could help with anything inside before firing up te BBQ, and she asked me to toss the salad, now if she had said make, prepare or any other term I may have been fine, but I though toss mean chuck it out assuming it must be no good, so I grabbed the lettuces she has on the bench and chucked them in the trash, then happily went out to fire up the BBQ, Was happily doing that when she came out t ask me where was the salad, I smiled and said IN the trash, and couldn’t understand initially why she got so upset, needles to say I was in the car a minute after heading t but some fresh lettuces LOL

Those lamb chops look so good I must say, there my favorite meat, but i am fussy I only will have Lamb Chops From New Zealand and they really are the best but hard to find here

That is a funny one, and that is exactly what I'm talking about when it comes to tossing.
When you write, I smiled and said in the trash, subconsciously you may have had an idea of what she meant and you were waiting for her to ask, where is the salad.
I do not intend to question the truth of your intentions, but as you stated, upset my first wife. 😁😁

New Zealand chops are the best, but they are also hard to find in this area.

LOL reply.

NO at that stage it was early on in our marriage and i honestly do not think it was subconsciously intentional, later on near the end it would have been,

I think it reallly comes down to I was more interested in being outdoors with a beer grilling and just didn’t think and took her to literally LOL

As for New Zealand chops of course being from NZ I am a little biased LOL

Now that is some serious Wife Points! Cooking at all while napping is happening but that gourmet meal and you are in premium territory.

Those chops have me drooling they look so good. You could almost call me @slobberchops as I am sure my friend and his eye would agree.

Well done dood!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The wife points have been banked.

Thanks for the reply, always good to hear from you!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thanks for the compliment, greatly appreciated.

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for the award, boy does time fly.

Happy 1st steemitversary @thebigsweed 😉 and the salad looks wonderful.. Thanks to your better half so you can fill up the whole drawer with delicious meals😉..

Thanks for the reply @cicisaja, and it even tasted better than it looked!

Lamb chops, mama's fav

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50