Pav for Dessert at the Kermandie Hotel - FoodFightFriday

in #fff6 years ago (edited)

Okay, okay, technically it's already Saturday here in Australia, but I'm pretty sure that when we were eating it was still Friday night somewhere in the world.

My wife is currently taking driving lessons so that she will hopefully soon get her licence. She hasn't really bothered before because she hasn't really needed it, but with a 2 year old, there's been a few times where it would be handy if I wasn't the sole driver in the household.

Anyway, in order to get some practice in, we decided we'd go for a drive and take my wife's grandmother out for lunch (about a 70 minute trip each way).

By the time I remembered I didn't have anything for @foodfightfriday this week, I'd already eaten a significant amount of my main, and it wasn't really visually spectacular anyway.

So here is dessert (minus a bite or two)

20180728_142528.jpg

The Pavlova (pav to us Aussies) with strawberry and passionfruit was quite tasty, but unfortunately the meringue just lacked a little bit of crunch which is usually present. Instead of being a 6/10, that would have elevated it to an 8.

Anyway, it was nice enough, the company was good and we all went home with full tummies so tlI can't complain.

Sort:  

Finally... Dessert!! Glad you brought this in a little later on. Gave me sometime for my stomach to make some room.
0E6F5BD4-8D37-447C-9DF4-CA6914D32E0E.gif

Ooooo... dessert. I like dessert. No matter how much I eat, there's always room for dessert.

And you didn't have to lift a finger to get it... Bonus! well maybe you had to raise a finger to call the waiter, but I won't count that one!

What you describe is a phenomenon called the dessert stomach. It's a little known fact that some of us are born with a second stomach used only for post meal dessert dishes.

I have 2 dessert stomachs. The advancement in technology today is amazing. 😜😜

I think we will be truly evolved as a species when, like cows, we have 4 stomachs, 1 for entrees, snacks and starters, one for mains and two for desserts.

Oh dude! That looks heavenly tasty!

Yeah, it was pretty good

Apparently everything was pretty good if you're both forgetting you have nothing for #fff, and not getting the camera out to take a photo anyway. I'll just take your word for it that it was six out of ten. What I see looks pretty good, though I've never had a pav or a Pavlova and can't really tell what it is. :)

Pavlova (Pav for short because Australian's like to abbreviate whenever possible) is pretty much the quintessential Australian dessert dish. It was named in honour of the Russian ballet dancer Anna Pavlova. It consists of a baked meringue shell which is usually nice and crispy, with a soft gooey centre. Most commonly topped with whipped cream and fruit (kiwifruit and strawberries are probably the most popular), but variations will sometimes include broken up chocolate bars.

Sounds great. I've only eaten lemon meringue in a pie, so I'm not sure about the crispy outer shell, but anyway, it sounds delicious. Or, in this case, not as good as it could have been (but should be).

Is there any special significance between Pavlova and Australia? Okay, looks like she toured there back in 1926. Must have left a pretty big impression. :)

Outside of the dessert being named in her honour, I'm not aware of anything. Someone was just a big fan I guess. Either way, if you ever get the opportunity to try it, it comes highly recommended. A whole country can't be wrong can we?

Well, I can't vouch for every country in every situation, but so far, Australia and her people have been pretty decent to me, so I'm more than willing to give you all the benefit of the doubt on dessert. Just make sure you all keep eating it, so they'll keep making it until I eventually get there to try it. That will be much more fun than me trying to track down a bakery where I'm at that makes it, or me finding a recipe and trying to do it justice. :) Plus, I can say to my wife, "We need to go to Australia so we can try the pav!"

And as an added bonus, it's one of the things in this country that isn't trying to kill you.

That's a pretty big bonus. Is it really that bad, though? I keep hearing about all kinds of things, which I sure exist, but I'm going to guess you need to be wandering around in the rural areas to run into things, don't you? I mean, I would imagine that urban areas will be much like anywhere else.

Yeah pretty much. We have some of the deadliest snakes and spiders on the planet, but for the most part if you don't disturb them, then they'll stay out of your way. Most fatalities from these things (of which there are not a lot) stem from either people doing stupid things, or people unexpectedly disturbing them in their natural habitat.

Drop-bears, on the other hand.........

I bet before you attacked it, that dessert looked like a wrk of art...food art.

Yeah, it's fair to say it looked pretty impressive.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

That desert looks delicious ...

It was, thanks

Hey sparkesy,
That dessert looks amazing. I love passion fruit. I was wondering if you had steem chat? Would like to talk to you more and get to know you. I'm a big dreamer on traveling the world, and Australia is one the places I'd like to visit. I would just like to know a little more about your hometown, and what you guys do for fun. Tell your wife congrats and best of luck on her driving test. It's always good to know how to drive incase of an emergency. Anyway I'm johndoer123 fiance, if you haven't figured that out yet. It's very nice talking to you, and I hope to hear from you soon.

Pleased to meet you @wildflower8292. Unfortunately I don't have Steemchat but more than happy to pass on some info about Hobart (or as the locals sometimes call it, Slowbart). It's a beautiful place I moved to 16 years ago and haven't looked back.

I would love to hear about it. What do you guys do for fun there?

Fun? I'm married with a 2.5 year old. I don't think I'm allowed to have fun am I?

😂 yes your allowed to have fun! Gotta live alittle. Surly there is something you, and your family do there for fun from time to time? We do movie nights, and game nights with the boy from time to time. We've recently started doing this geocaching thing. Evan really seems to like it. It's like a treasure hunt.

Ivy is still a but young to have picked up hobbies yet, or be able to concentrate through a movie, but she loves animals so we go to a local wildlife sanctuary where she can see a few animals and then finish the visit by hand feeding kangaroos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36