You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pav for Dessert at the Kermandie Hotel - FoodFightFriday

in #fff6 years ago

Apparently everything was pretty good if you're both forgetting you have nothing for #fff, and not getting the camera out to take a photo anyway. I'll just take your word for it that it was six out of ten. What I see looks pretty good, though I've never had a pav or a Pavlova and can't really tell what it is. :)

Sort:  

Pavlova (Pav for short because Australian's like to abbreviate whenever possible) is pretty much the quintessential Australian dessert dish. It was named in honour of the Russian ballet dancer Anna Pavlova. It consists of a baked meringue shell which is usually nice and crispy, with a soft gooey centre. Most commonly topped with whipped cream and fruit (kiwifruit and strawberries are probably the most popular), but variations will sometimes include broken up chocolate bars.

Sounds great. I've only eaten lemon meringue in a pie, so I'm not sure about the crispy outer shell, but anyway, it sounds delicious. Or, in this case, not as good as it could have been (but should be).

Is there any special significance between Pavlova and Australia? Okay, looks like she toured there back in 1926. Must have left a pretty big impression. :)

Outside of the dessert being named in her honour, I'm not aware of anything. Someone was just a big fan I guess. Either way, if you ever get the opportunity to try it, it comes highly recommended. A whole country can't be wrong can we?

Well, I can't vouch for every country in every situation, but so far, Australia and her people have been pretty decent to me, so I'm more than willing to give you all the benefit of the doubt on dessert. Just make sure you all keep eating it, so they'll keep making it until I eventually get there to try it. That will be much more fun than me trying to track down a bakery where I'm at that makes it, or me finding a recipe and trying to do it justice. :) Plus, I can say to my wife, "We need to go to Australia so we can try the pav!"

And as an added bonus, it's one of the things in this country that isn't trying to kill you.

That's a pretty big bonus. Is it really that bad, though? I keep hearing about all kinds of things, which I sure exist, but I'm going to guess you need to be wandering around in the rural areas to run into things, don't you? I mean, I would imagine that urban areas will be much like anywhere else.

Yeah pretty much. We have some of the deadliest snakes and spiders on the planet, but for the most part if you don't disturb them, then they'll stay out of your way. Most fatalities from these things (of which there are not a lot) stem from either people doing stupid things, or people unexpectedly disturbing them in their natural habitat.

Drop-bears, on the other hand.........

Okay, never heard of a drop-bear, so I looked it up. Carnivorous Koala's, eh? :) As always, the internet is giving me two different versions—hoax, but based in some reality. So which is it?

We'd used to get sent out on snipe hunts on scout outings, but as far as I know, no one was ever attacked by a snipe. Those are highly camouflaged critters, rarely heard or seen. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67