The Red Dove Cafe ~Food Fight Friday~

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

I'd managed to get re-hired for a job I did two years ago at the Royal Adelaide Show. While not the most pleasant job, cleaning up the manure left by horses (and occasionally other animals), it does give me autonomy and time to think.

My phone's headphone jack isn't working properly now, but two years ago it allowed me to listen to hours worth of podcasts. It certainly beats an office job with Key Performance Indicators to meet.

One of the other perks of the job is that it also allows me time to take the occasional photo, perfect for entries like this.

The Royal Adelaide Show is like a massive state fair where there are amusement rides, sideshows, food stalls, games to play, competitions that represent the best of things in the state, livestock like cows, horses, goats, pigs and alpacas and there's even a massive ferris wheel!!

It's a great money spinner for the local economy as there are a lot of jobs created.

And if I don't pack my own lunch, I don't have to worry because right near where I am stationed is the
Red Dove Cafe.


A sign showing the way...

The** Red Dove Cafe** is the initiative of the Uniting Church and has been run by tireless volunteers and those seeking work experience since 1951, but has been at it's current location at the South Eastern end of the Wayville Showgrounds since 2017.


The Red Dove Cafe.


The Red Dove Cafe only with fog.

It was cold enough for it to be foggy on this particular morning, but I didn't feel the cold at all, so it came as a surprise.

The meals there are a little expensive as you'd expect from operating during a state fair, but it's still within reason.


Chicken Tikka with Salad.

This was a particular favourite and it wasn't hot as I was expecting it to be. It was quite morish in fact.


Fruit Salad.

An easy, healthy favourite.


Caesar Salad with Mayonaise.

I bought this the next day for something different and it was quite filling.


Jelly Cake - a jam and cream filled cake, coated in chocolate and desicated coconut...

Of course, I had to be a little naughty and include this little gem. With type 2 diabetes I have to be reeeeally careful with my sugar / carbohydrate intake (I can still eat them, but I have to burn it off fairly quickly).

Thankfully though it's over for another year. If you are ever in Adelaide, South Australia at the beginning of September, the Royal Adelaide Show is really something.


I am not sure if this dog was trained to do this but there was a donation box set up nearby... :)

It was just too cute not to include here.
See you next time!


Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Is that the real living merino? Where the dog stands? Cool...

I thought you've started to be a vegan😆 but since you know how to handle the naughty inside you.. I wish you really have a good time too.

No, the merino is just a statue, but they do have merino sheep at the Royal Adelaide Show. And no, I was once a vegan but I am not any more.
Sugar is not good for diabetes in large amounts, but small amounts is OK.

No, the merino is just a statue, but they do have merino sheep at the Royal Adelaide Show. And no, I was once a vegan but I am not any more.
Sugar is not good for diabetes in large amounts, but small amounts is OK.

...and if you're in Adelaide on the 26th of September, you might get lucky and meet Shaidon in person at The Jade, from 6pm :)
I once heard from a reliable source, the the organisation which hosts the Show, The Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Society; makes enough money off the show to pay all of their expenses for the entire year, and still pocket $5 million minimum.
Everything else they have/do there, from Uni exams, Lego exhibits, Sexpo, etc; all gravy.

They do quite well. I am not a fan of the recruitment agency they hired this year, but they paid me what they should have so I'll put up with them for the time being.

My goal is to put myself in a position where I don't need to work there again next year.

Nice to not have to rely on it. Still, my sister met her husband in the cow-milking area when she was working there.
image.png

It's not something that I have to do, but it's pretty much guaranteed work.
I lost my construction cleaning job for various reasons, and I didn't get accepted into the Datacom job, so I am scratching around for different options.

Wow, love the look of that jelly cake. Drooling, so love my sweets.
Have a fun filled weekend!

This entry is awesome @shaidon, like I’ve been to the Royal Adelaide myself and, no, I didn’t have to go back to check the spelling. Like I said—like I was there. Great contender.

I don’t know why this one isn’t getting more attention. As of recently, I’ve began noticing the articles I put out, when they’re an interpretation of something someone can find on google, it goes less noticed. Doesn’t matter if it’s my own images, in my own words, etc, unless it can’t be found online, it seems to go unnoticed.

What do you think? Am I overthinking it? Does it seem like the viewer wants less of what the author thinks and more of what the author is thinking at that very moment and the process required to both absorb and share that exact thought at that exact moment?

It’s always a pleasure hanging out with you on Fridays @shaidon, I can tell you enjoy food fights as much as I do. 👍🏿

I mean c’mon people... How many times have you got to read directly from the guy who shovelled the horses poop?! (and other animals) <- (Hilarious)

LOL. Yeah, I have no idea really. I do know that lately my posts aren't getting the attention that they should, but I don't know if that is the hardfork or whether people aren't really interacting as much on the platform.

I see c-squared came through and some others, it’s nice to see this one over 100 votes at least—you deserve it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had to share it on their discord. Not sure how manually curated these things are but I am very grateful when they do the right thing by creators.

Posted using Partiko Android

@shaidon
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 60
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
03F862FB-864B-4085-BC57-4297B65CA946.gif
Good Luck
and
Enjoy a
!BEER On Us


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @shaidon, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

That jelly cake looks so tempting, I'm a terrible sweet tooth! Sounds like a really nice show, I'm sure there was lots to see, one actually needs a lot of time at places like that.

Yeah I didn't get a chance to see a whole lot this year due to work commitments, but it's definitely worth checking out every year.

Royal Adelaide Show, looks like a lot of fun.
For them to take in so much money, the people must flock there from all over the area.
Sounds very similar to the New York State Fair that takes place in Syracuse, NY.
The entire fair is centered around livestock, food, and of course some rides for the kids.
Really cool entry.

Yes it's very similar but I think smaller than the one in New York.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49