A Return To The House Of Schnitzel -An FFF entry-

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

ifg92sg0wz.jpg

Hey there FFFers! It’s time for another entry.

On Friday afternoon, I walked out of the cleaning course I do Thursdays and Fridays, 7 minutes before we were allowed to go. I’d followed an older female friend out before even checking the time. LOL.

As I leave I always say “See you next Thursdays!” and wait and see who gets the rather crude joke.

A few people do and grin knowingly. I grin and wave back, also knowingly. It’s phonetic.

On the way home, I decided to return to the Eureka Tavern’s House Of Schnitzel.
I’ve posted about them before in the Food Fight Friday competition and I was a bit reluctant to post about the exact same meal again.* I am such a creature of habit!*

When I arrived, they were a about 15 minutes from opening the restaurant section. It’s part of a larger pub / tavern so I went to the bar and ordered a pint of Coke No Sugar and chatted with the staff and people who had just finished work for the day. The atmosphere can be quite pleasant at times, when it’s not rowdy. It was a Friday night and people are going to left their hair down before having to go back to their menial drudgery and on Monday morning. I can’t blame them.

I am on a tight budget but occasionally I need to blow off steam (Steem?) and occasionally that also means having to spend a bit of money. Thankfully Fridays are when their steaks are 50% off, so this meal cost less than AU$30 including a drink. The soup, salad and icecream bar are free. You also get a small bread roll and some butter provided (not pictured).

For something different, I went with a before and after photo collage. I’m using my IPad Pro so it’s not entirely accurate, but I have a deadline to meet. Shrug.

I chose a nearby table and sat down. I was later informed that this table was reserved by a married couple and I would need to move so I moved over to the next table without any dramas. There was no reserved sign, so it was easy to make that mistake.

There’s usually a choice of two soups, but today this appeared to be two lots of the same soup. I couldn’t identify it but it was definitely some sort of green vegetable at some point. Delicious nonetheless. For the salad, I tend to focus on beetroot as it doesn’t play with my blood sugars, diabetes is something I need to keep an eye on.

00t2z2oahl.jpg
Soup and salad. Super salad?

The onion rings came out first and I must admit that they are a meal in and of themselves. The dipping sauce is quite nice too. The Grazier’s Steak was cooked medium rare and was amazing too.

I made short work of them both, having to shift the plates around the table to accomodate my IPad Pro to take photos of each of the plates as they came out.

23n10vddl2.jpg Onion rings and 250g Grazier’s Rump Steak

And then finally, what I choose to believe is a work of art, the icecream. In fact I was going to just submit the main photo above alone in some of the photo groups. I think it’s a quality post on it’s own even if others don’t.

v6s9t1oeb3.jpg Icecream or a work of art? You decide!

wp5ceb5afk.jpg
They most certainly do, and steaks too!

Sadly, the meal was over and with a heavy heart, and an even heavier stomach, it was time to leave this fine establishment and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Apparently, El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie is on Netflix and it’s time to check up on the adventures of Jessie Pinkman. That plucky scamp!

See you next Friday... ;)

Shaidon Cartoon FFF.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Food Fight Friday Badge.gif

Sort:  

Sounds nice, I might have to check that place out some time. Although I'm on a tight budget lately while I get all these bills under control, will have them paid off next week :)

I'll be living on lentils and soup kitchens for the next month or so. The next few pays are going towards bills, doctor's appointment and transport. Steem needs to go moon pretty soon. This is getting ridiculous.

haha yeah my trolley is full of baked beans, I'll probably blow the blanket off me bed tonight :)
Yeah moon would be nice, u never know

Baked beans would be a luxury for me right now, but at least you'll be warm tonight. :D

For me the soup and that beet salad would be enough to almost fill me.
But I know I could tip it off with that ice cream work of art.😊

Yeah, I thought it was too.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

30aud can feed a lot here, but I'm sure different place different lifestyle. Sounds like a very good deal and super satisfying. Oh, and ice cream. No art. You can blend them all and I will still eat it anytime. @tipu curate

Posted using Partiko Android

I can also buy a lot of food for AU$30 if I wanted stick to purely survival food like lentils or vegetables.
In fact, it was probably a budget mistake for me to do this at this time, but I needed a night out.
Food is probably a lot cheaper there and maybe it's a lot easier to generate money there too?
I don't know.

Does Steem support you?

Hardly. Food is generally cheap here. Petrol price is cheap as well. The only problem is, labor is cheap all together 😂 my steem are for fun, they're just too cheap to spend now. We used to have burgershops and medical clinic that accept steem here, and guess what, both of them closed down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. That's incredible!
Yeah, Steem needs to increase in price pretty soon. I am getting sick and tired of people and businesses no longer accepting it. It means a lack of service.
If I can't use Steem to buy stuff then it's only for fun, just like collecting marbles.

@shaidon
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 64
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER



Hey @shaidon, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Yup, I’ve seen you post about the shnitzel joint before, you sure did do a nice job of keeping this article clean @shaidon. Good job with the image edits and stuff.

Dude, I don’t get the joke. See you next Thursday’s. I don’t get it??

edit
Uhm.. joke? Congratulations on the reward dude.

The joke is phonetic and rather crude. It's a way of dropping the "c-bomb" in a way that only a few
people would get. C U Next ThursdayS

Thanks for the congrats on the reward. :D

The issue was that it was the exact same meal. I will have to order something else next time I go there.
But I have been to the same restaurant with some of my Vietnamese food entries.
I've got a few ideas for the next few entries. I'll see what I can come up with.

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60