FOOD FIGHT FRIDAY{}AIRPORT FOOD IS TOO EXPENSIVE

in #fff5 years ago

Hello my fellow @foodfightfriday chefs. I hope everyone has their gloves on for today's fight. This Friday finds me in Southern California and away from my kitchen again. I have been busy since I arrived here on Wednesday, so I had no idea what to post for this week. I couldn't let a Friday go by without posting something.

Generally when we fly, I prepare a lunch for us since our eating habits are a little different now. Even before we changed our way of eating I would prepare something for us to eat on the airplane. The flight is usually around 4-1/2 to 5 hours and that is a long time to go without eating and I refused to pay those ridiculous prices for food at the airport.

The Points Guy stated in one of his articles regarding high cost of airport food, "According to a survey by the Airport Council International-North America, 49% of the airports in the United States charge more just because you’re eating at the airport. It’s the same insulting price-gouging that occurs at stadiums and concert venues — and the worst part is, we don’t have much of a choice. Sure, you can choose to stay home from that Taylor Swift show, but if you’ve got a flight from JFK to PDX with a layover in LAX, you don’t really have any alternatives (unless you brought a snack, have access to an airline lounge or leave the airport to go over to In-N-Out). You’re stuck paying a whopping 18% extra just because your journey took you to the City of Angels — and that’s officially not fair. " https://thepointsguy.com/2015/08/the-airport-restaurant-pricing-scam/

Airlines ticket prices are expensive enough, then having to pay such hiked up prices for food at the airport, is just unfair. So this trip I prepared a delicious garden salad, a great looking veggie burger, paleo granola and potato chips to snack on. This was enough to hold us until we reached California.

Salad.jpg

Veggie Burger.jpg

20181019_155911.jpg

We had an enjoyable flight, good food to eat, and free movies to watch.

Thank God for travel grace and mercies.

Until next week y'all.

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

fff winner belt.gif

Sort:  

@paleotwist,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 39
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Right on, @cheetah, she even named the guy and put his quotes in quotes, you’re doing great kitty—nerd.

And coffee, too! $3.50 for a black coffee—lame. So, @paleotwist, tell me, how many people asked you where you got your food, “excuse ma’am, I’m sorry but, where’d you get that salad?”

Happy Food fight chef, thanks for hanging out with us again. Enjoy California—where all salads are the same price as airport salads. 😉

@dandays, it is always a pleasure hanging out with the fff crowd. No, I didn't get any questions this time, but in the past I have been asked where did I get that salad. Food is a lot higher here than in GA at the grocery stores and restaurants.

Your food is away better than airport foods @paleotwist, same things happened here in my country.. everything is 150% higher than other place, even the bottled mineral water 😂.

I always wondering how could you survive just by taking salad or burger for lunch😯 I need to have the salad with rice, soup with rice, steak with rice.. everything with rice😂

Yes, @cicisaja, even spring water is $3 or more, according to the size, at the airport. That was a big salad and plenty enough for me. Plus they offer you snacks, that I usually take to my grandchildren.

If I could, I would eat rice everyday too. Thanks @cicisaja.

Man, that salad looks gorgeous. I know what kind of bread is on the burger 😉. Flying and eating at airports is not the business, plus the food is never that good for you anyway. Enjoy your holiday @paleotwist!

Thank you puravidaville, I thought you might recognize the bread. I have made the bread 3 times since I've been here. Enjoying my time here since the services for my Aunt are over.

Good. I’m sure it was a lovely celebration of life. 😇

Now that is how you stick to your diet and avoid that price gouging!!! You almost made me go on a mini rant here but I am just going to leave you with this.... Metallica Concert 2003 1-12oz Budweiser beer $12. 20oz water $8. Let’s just say I was awfully thirsty at the end of that concert.

Posted using Partiko iOS

OMG, @ jlsplatts, that was awful even for today's prices. A couple of years ago, we spent $32 at Qdoba and didn't even get drinks. My husband was stuck on their soup at that time.

Hey, @paleotwist.

Wow. That's what I call a lunch! Looks great. I guess you didn't get the stink eye from anyone on the plane for packing your own. Good for you.

I used to live in Southern California, down in the Orange County area, and we've flown in and out of LAX quite a few times. That place is always an adventure, but oddly enough, we've never missed a flight or had any problems there.

It sounds like you're down there (from a previous post) to celebrate the life of your aunt, so even though that's probably a bittersweet trip, I do hope you have an enjoyable time.

I'm guessing you must have been pretty close to her to travel all that way.

Looks like cheetah has something out for the FFF, and now she's spreading.

@glenalbrethsen, Southern California is still home to me. I do enjoy my visits, but this time was kind of hard for me. My Aunt didn't have any children so she doted on her nieces. Being around family helps a lot. Thanks for your concern.

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

More nutritious than most food items you can get at the airport, you don,t have to wait in line, and you save a small fortune.
Great entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46