MY VEGAN VERSION OF CHILLI CON CARNE

in #fff6 years ago

image

Disclaimer : No animals where harmed in the production of this meal. Happy Friday foodfightfriday friends this is what I whipped up for my tea as they call it here in Britain, yeah I know, there is no tea in the picture, British call their evening meal tea, I still can't wrap my head around it so I won't blame you for being confused.

This is not an authentic chilli con carne, it has ginger, dramatic pause, da dah. Yes ginger, why, because I think its awesome. Brace yourself for the interesting facts about ginger, it contains a cool natural oil called gingerol, it is a great anti inflammatory and antioxidant, basically it is awesome, and that is all I'm gonna say about it.

Ingredients

300g Soya mince
300g mixed beans
3 onions
Half a garlic
Couple inches of ginger
2 chilli's
1 teaspoon ground coriander
4 teaspoons curry powder
Teaspoon salt

image

OK so I soak the beans over night, before soaking the beans they were 300g, obviously the weight increased, like me over Christmas.

So I chop up the onions, chilli, garlic and ginger

image

I grab my handy pressure cooker, sprinkle some mustard seeds and fennel seeds

image

Lighting oil and chuck in the onions and chilli

image

Then garlic and ginger

image

Then Soya mince

image

A can of tomatoes with a litre of water

image

1 teaspoon salt

image

1 teaspoon ground coriander

image

4 teaspoons curry powder

image

Then for the beans

image

Lid goes on the pot and I cooked it slowly for about an hour and a half

image

I made some fancy red rice I found in the health shop, and I ate it like no tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by, and cheers for now.

Sort:  

So Chili SIN Carne ;) ... one of my favs.
Thanks for sharing. It looks delicious as always

An interesting take on chili - I would have never thought to add ginger and curry powder in the mix but you have made it seem pretty damn good. Nice job :)

Yeah I know, I'm making it more like a curry, but I love curry so much. Thanks gardeningchef

@gguy773. I didn’t realize I was hanging out with such a rock star!

Great contender chef, we just had some real good food at a joint called Healthy Junk last night but I’d rather stop by your place!

Happy Friday @gguy773, it’s great to see you again. Congratulations on the trail (again)! Well deserved.

Thanks dandays, I'm not much of a rock, more like a stone , like a stoner. Yeah it's my Mrs that makes me cook like that, now she wants to take my cooking spray away, yikes!

Oooo Ginger... I don't mind ginger in food as long as I can't taste it. Just can't stand the taste. I know Wifey feeds it to me anyway, but if I don't taste it I don't care.

Put enough curry powder and chilli then you will never know, lol 😂.

It’s settled, we are coming to your house for dinner! I’m very impressed with your kitchen wizardry @gguy773, and that damn fancy red rice looks frikken delicious on the side of that chili 😋. Happy food fight! It’s great to see you blow up friend :)

Ah thanks, you too kind.

Congratulations @gguy773! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I bet the chili and the rice would make an awesome burrito of sorts.
Why oh why do I look at these just before lunch!! I must like punishing myself or something. Now I just can’t decide what to make/have for lunch!!

Funny thing, I have never eaten a burrito, maybe I will try it sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83