MOVING FROM AUTUMN TO WINTER...DECORATING FOR THE SEASON #FFF

in #fff4 years ago

Happy Friday all my freaky, fun, fantastic, food flinging friends, you are all so HOT!

How could you not be burnin' your bums , I meant, burning the buns in the kitchen.

Get your stuffing hot, cos it's time to start #foodfightfriday. YEAH!!!!

So who around this kitchen table has been busy this week? I know @thebigsweed and I have been recovering from a whirlwind weekend once again from a visit with grandchildren. I still haven't gotten back to square one, the floor still needs washing. But with all the snow, it seems silly to waste time on a dirty floor when you know it will only get dirty again.🤦‍♂️

Much more fun to decorate, change over from autumn flowers, harvest theme, Thanksgiving is over right? Wait I knew that a minute ago.🙄

So it's time to go with the winter theme and the next upcoming Holiday. Ummm? oh yeah, Christmas.

I so enjoy decorating my home for each of the seasons and Holidays. So today may have been so cold, but it was bright and jolly outside. The snow was still flying, but the air was so fresh, I had to get out there and enjoy our #homestead.

Lights, lights and more lights, that's my MO. I love to see lights draped over mother #nature's beauty.
I started out warm and cozy in my many layers of winter wear.

IMG_8087.JPG

Food, ok food, I really didn't want to cook today, I was having too much fun outside. But the grumble started in my belly and there was no denying it. The morning cereal was wearing out, so it was time to take off the snow boots, strip down to where I could at least move my arms, and get busy in the kitchen.

With no idea what I would cook, I just opened the frig to see what was there to create a fabulous meal.

Veggies work for me every time. Pulled out carrots, celery, green pepper, portabella mushrooms, garlic, string beans and my very special baby cabbage, one of three that I still had tucked away since late August.

Stir fry it was.

IMG_8093.JPG

Still crisp and sweet.

IMG_8094.JPG

I thought I would make a sweet and sour sauce for the stir fry. I beautifully displayed all the ingredients that was needed to make this special sauce, but the syrup jerk photo bombed my picture and sure made a mess in my kitchen.

IMG_8098.JPG

No harm, no foul, the veggies made it to the hot pot with a very nice sizzle.

IMG_8096.JPG

I added some soy sauce and sesame seed oil while stir frying the veggies. Oh and as usual for me,I start my stir frying with olive oil and garlic, you have to have that oil and garlic base, at least for me.

IMG_8097.JPG

Planning on putting this nice veggie stir fry over rice, I thought maybe we needed just a little more Ka-Pow. Scallops! Found a bag of bay scallops in the freezer, pan seared them with butter and lemon.

IMG_8101.JPG

Added some paprika and garlic powder, you can never have too much garlic.

IMG_8102.JPG

IMG_8103.JPG

Dinner is served...

IMG_8106.JPG

Dinner done, outside again on light installment.

IMG_8124.JPG

IMG_8129.JPG

IMG_8126.JPG

IMG_8128.JPG

Tomorrow, Autumn decorations get put away, Christmas comes alive at our #farm.

IMG_8109.JPG

Have some food frenzy fun for it's #foodfightfriday,where the best chefs on the blockchain come to freak out every Friday with some fine fellows, @jlsplatts,@idig and @dandays. Love you guys😍🤩🤗
Big shout out to our beloved @appreciator, you are the best supporter we could ask for.😘🤗😉

Sort:  

Looks very cold outside, but you sure had fun! Your stirfry looks so yum, it's one of those meals I just love and often when I do make it ask myself why I don't make it more often! Lovely Christmassy post @farm- mom:)

Good day my friend @lizelle. It's been cold and snowy for almost a week now. We must have at least 16 inches or better and it's snowing again today.
I enjoy the snow, it's so pretty on the trees, makes the world look clean.
I enjoy it for awhile, first few months of winter here can be lots of fun, but the lack of sunshine gets to me after awhile, so that's when I grab @thebigsweed and head south for 5 or 6 weeks.
Reservations are already done, we leave Jan. 26th, and return around the 10th of March, just in time to tap our sugar maples to make syrup.
Good plan, don't ya think?
Have a joyful day!

Some things never change—you’re still the life of the party, @farm-mom. Enjoy the rest of your festive weekend.

Thanks Mr. D aka @dandays, I really am the life of the party until I am not🤷‍♀️❤

Hey, @farm-mom.

I'm amazed at how anyone can just kind of look at the ingredients they have and come up with something to do with them. I'm not anywhere near that stage. I do have to agree though, garlic goes a long way to making a meal. I think I've had too much before, but it was still pretty tasty. :)

My wife keeps wanting me to put up lights, too, to the point now she does some smaller battery operated lights herself.

I have, however, from a few years ago, purchased some projectors that have various colored lights and snowflakes that appear on our house at night. They don't take nearly as long to put up, and I think it makes everything a little more festive.

We don't get nearly the snow you get there, and I don't think I would know what to do if we did. I like what we get—an inch or two, maybe a little more, around for a day, gone within two. :)

Good evening @glenalbrethsen, I can whip a meal pretty quickly with what's in the pantry or frig. I always keep the basics stocked up and it sure helps to have a freezer full of veggies we grew over the summer.
The snow, um, I love the snow for the first month or so, but up where I live, we get lake effect snow until spring.
Our solution, get out of the north for 5 or 6 weeks. We go to Florida every winter,
after the holidays, we leave Jan. 26th and won't return until the 10th of March, just in time to tap our sugar maple trees to make our homemade syrup.
Thanks for dropping by, Enjoy!

Decorating and stir-fry...Doesn't get much better huh? I have to say, that stir fry looked pretty good! I also love how you put that fallen tree to use with the lights. Certainly looks like you guys get into the spirit of it. ✅🎄🎅

Enjoy, and have a great weekend.

Good morning @galenkp, nice of you to drop by, thanks for the compliments.😃
Yes, we do really enjoy the Holidays. I love to change my outdoor as well as my indoor decorations according to the seasons. Lights outside, like you saw in the pictures, help me enjoy being outside, even with the grayness of winter skies. It gets dark here in Upstate NY by 4:30pm, shoot, I feel like I am only putting in a half day of work.😏
Glad you noticed the tree root, that was a cool project. Several years ago we had a huge snowstorm with high winds that took down 4 or 5 trees, literally uprooting them. When Spring came, the clean up began. The root balls now exposed very interesting features. Thus began project root ball transformation.
Now, I decorate that for Holiday cheers.
Have a wonderful day, thanks to checking me out.✌

I was born and raised in a small town in Australia, to parents who did have much to spare financially. So, we made our own fun including decorating at Christmas time making do with what we had. That's stayed with me and so I appreciate some old fashioned ingenuity, such as your fallen tree decoration, more than simply buying stuff and erecting in the yard.

Thanks for replying and have a good weekend.

@farm-mom
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 72
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent
Food Coma
6BBDA2B1-F4BB-4A37-99BE-EC813695E551.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

I'll take that beer, thanks!

Great meal. What the heck , I must have gotten a little shut eye when you went back outside in the evening, and I thought we had completed the mission.

Who doesn't sneak in a little nap when no one is looking? Probably well-deserved...Right? 😊

Being an early riser, usually up before 4 am requires an occasional nap, or maybe even two. 😊

One nap would just get lonely. Two, less lonely. I apply that principle to dessert...And breakfast sometimes. Two is better than one.

I've got your # sweed, as soon as you say, I think I will watch some sports, I know it's just a matter of time until I hear...that wonderful soothing snore(not)😑



Hey @farm-mom, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Nothing like a nice cold one, thanks friend

Yay! Another festive post! Love seeing all the snow and lights popping up everywhere. We don't often get snow down here, so I live vicariously through everyone else. I bet those veggies sure did hit the spot after all that working outside! Happy holidays!

Good afternoon @plantstoplanks, yes I so enjoy decorating for the seasons as well as Holidays. Love to light up the place and throw some color around. We get a lot of snow here in Upstate NY, so many days there will be no sun at all, so outdoor lighting helps me feel happier.
@thebigsweed and I were starving by the time we sat down to eat, there was little or no casual conversation,alI you could here was the forks hitting the plate and an occasional yummmmm!
Enjoy the day, nice to hear from you.😋


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, thanks so much for the recognition @c-squared

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You're welcome @farm-mom. Thank you for your unfailing support!

I am in it for the long haul, love this platform, lots of fun with some really great people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29