Healthy Treats | It’s Plum Delicious! Breakfast Anyone?

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0035 (2).jpg

We’re still enjoying Plums my foodie friends! The market is bursting with plums and I certainly purchased my fair share this week!


What a versatile fruit! We’ve already enjoyed making sorbet with plums so today I thought we would have them for breakfast! No not in a juice, something a little bit exciting! We all know they’re a great source of Vitamins A, B and C! That’s an A for the eyes and B-C for your metabolism and antioxidants!


How about Plum Jam Breakfast Bars?


These breakfast bars are perfect for a breakfast on the run, make them the night before and they’re great the next day. Pack them for lunch or an afternoon snack. With ice cream.....I consider them a dessert too!


Let’s make Plum jam first!


Wash, chop and pit three ripe plums. I always make sure they're slightly soft but not mushy.
DSC_0003 (2).jpg


Grab your favorite sauce pan and add the plums, 2 tablespoons of filtered water and 2 tablespoons of Maple Syrup. Let it simmer for about 20 minutes and then add 1 tablespoon Chia seeds. Continue to simmer until it’s nice and thick. Taste and add more sweetener if you wish! You know, this plum jam is amazing with toast too! I think you'll have have a bit left over!


Jam ready?


It’s time to make the Bars! Did I tell you these were gluten and dairy free? With very little sugar added you won’t start your day on a sugar high!

Breakfast Bars!

  • Gluten Free Flour (1 cup)
  • Almond Flour (3/4 cup)
  • Baking Powder (3/4 tsp)
  • Coconut Oil or dairy free butter (1/2 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)
  • Chia Egg (qty 1)
  • Walnuts (1/4 cup)

I whisked all of the dry ingredients and then added them to my food processor. Oil, syrup and Chia egg are then blended together with the dry ingredients. Remove half of the dough and place it in a parchment lined baking dish. Press into an even layer and then it’s time to add the Plum jam! I’m pretty liberal with the jam, so add a nice layer! (You’ll be glad you did!) Now back to the remaining dough! Add the walnuts to the dough and blend. This will be your nutty topping, yum! Distribute the topping to cover the jam.


DSC_0006 (2).jpg

Into the oven…


for 30 minutes at 350 degrees! Look at that topping, golden brown and delicious! Believe me it was all I could do to let it cool, but you must! The flavors will have time to blend nicely.
DSC_0014 (2).jpg

I think you'll agree, it’s Plum delicious my friends! Enjoy!


DSC_0039a.jpg


We’ve had another crazy day in the Bird kitchen, I’m so glad you were able to join me! It’s always more fun cooking with friends! I know my friends @foodfightfriday will be in another plum coma after all of the great food they’ll be having today! From soup to nuts, you'll find it there! Such a great group of food loving Steemians. If you haven’t checked out this great weekly food fight you must! Do stop by again and if you happen to try this sweet breakfast treat, I would love to hear all about it!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif

steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

!!! this reminds me of all the little crusty desserts you made when i was growing up... except now you've exponentially upped the health level, and they still look o so delicious. plum week at the bird house i see OX

Awww, well I've learned alot! Actually I thought about how I used to make them so long ago, lol I feel a lot better making these now, knowing the ingredients are healthy. I can't wait to make them for you when you visit!!!! oxoxoxoxox Miss you!

It's bedtime here but this looks so tempting, you're getting me plum crazy now Mrs Bird! Plum season is long gone but I'm going to be looking at making this for sure!
Have a great weekend my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sweet dreams @lizelle! You will love this for the B&B! Another sweet breakfast treat right? Thank you my friend!

@birdsinparadise
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 57
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

It sure looks plum delicious to me

hehehe, gotta love those silly phrases @tattoodjay! Now that you have all of those plums you can make sorbet and breakfast! This would be great for those lunchtime walk breaks too :) Thanks friend

LOl I you may have noticed love joking around and throwing in silly phrases in my replies LOL they do say laughter is the best medicine, ohh yes I had one for a mid-afternoon snack and it was really nice I must say its been a while

hehe, hope you'll try making it @amalinavia :) Thanks so much!

I don't know... that looks like a Plum Crumble to me... this renaming as a breakfast bar?... doesn't fool anyone, dessert for breakfast!

Now that's going to stick in the teeth and be really tarty.

I had PLUMS here in Asia for the first time in 16 years this week. Gifted. It's strange because plums are indigenous to Southern China, which is just "up the road". Anyway, it appears some enterprising person planted some plum trees and suddenly we have PLUMS. I have 12 pits in the earth already, valiantly ready to grow them for the next generation.

Apple and plum crumble would appear to be on our radar for this Thai Sunday evening sofa-night. YUMMO.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

:echo: You have such a nice blog. All pretty and tidy. Thanks for continuing to join us chef, the kitchen isn’t the same without you. Have a nice weekend, Birds.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79