Friday Night Eats! | Peaches and Prawns on Glass

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0078 (2).jpg

Good Day Beautiful People!!! It’s Friday!!



It’s Time for a little R&R in the Bird nest! We had a lot planned today so the day started early! Mr. Bird had a new project he wanted to start on so enjoying a healthy breakfast was a priority!


I had just enough time...


to whip up a quick acai protein bowl topped with fresh bananas, granola and strawberries before heading out the door for our morning ride! Yum!
DSC_0003 (1) (2).jpg

The morning was cool, in fact with temperatures in hovering in the 70’s Mr. Bird decided to crank up the speed!

IMG_1407 (2).jpg

He was quickly out of sight but that was fine with me, look what I found! My name sake and one of my favorite flowers! The Bird of Paradise! After a few quick shots, I quickly caught up with Mr. Bird, finishing my morning ride with a smile on my face!

IMG_1410 (2).jpg

Errands were completed and all supplies were purchased for our weekend project so I headed to our weekly round of Mahjong! Playing with a pretty seasoned group is definitely humbling! No wins for the Bird today!

IMG_1381 (2).jpg


Didn't I mention it was Friday?


Yep, it is indeed Friday, in fact #foodfightfriday! I couldn’t end the week without throwing some of Birds crazy Birdhouse food into the fray! Thanks to my #fff friends for celebrating with all of us each week! If you haven’t joined in the fight, come throw your hat into the ring! You’ll be glad you did!


And it's just about dinner time!


I had been thinking about this meal for a few days. Asian food is a clear favorite for Mr. Bird. Unfortunately we haven’t found a local spot that serves anything close to what we enjoy. I’m still experimenting with different flavors and spices, someday I’ll get it just right, lol!


Peaches, peaches...


We’re still enjoying peaches! I was definitely tempted; slicing these peaches always requires a nibble or two.
DSC_0043 (2k).jpg

Carrots and Cucumbers…


Ribbons and matchsticks! Nice and easy!
DSC_0051 (2).jpg

And what about the glass?


I decided we would enjoy glass or cellophane noodles! Aren’t they cute! They’re transparent when they’re cooked! Made from mung bean, potato, yam or cassava starch, they’re a lightweight noodle and great when used in Asian dishes! I covered the noodles with boiling water and after about 20 minutes they were ready to go!

DSC_0047 (2).jpg

Last task! The Dressing!


Tweets from the next room let me know the flock was hungry! Tahini, Sesame Oil, Lemon Juice, Cardamom, Crushed Red Peppers and Local Raw Honey; stirred just so!
DSC_0058 (2).jpg

A quick toss with fresh prawns!

DSC_0060 (24).jpg

And Voila! It's Friday night Food Fight-worthy! Peaches and Prawns on Glass!


DSC_0086 (l2).jpg


Dinner was a success! Mr. Bird went back for seconds, always a good sign. lol Friday night, time for a good movie and a sweet night of rest! Hope you all have a moment for a little R&R this weekend! Thanks for stopping by the Bird nest!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Oh yum Mrs Bird, your dinner looks amazing! Happy Friday it certainly was for you finding your namesake and ain't she a beauty;)
Have a great weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a healthy meal. The noodles look so light and seem like they would just melt in your mouth. Love the ingredients in the dressing, everything looks delicious. I never knew that there was such a flower, The Bird of Paradise. One last thing, that game you're playing looks like it would take some time to learn all of the rules and strategies.

Waiting for my wife to wake up for breakfast and now after seeing this post I am starving LOL, both the acai Bowl and the prawn and peaches look so good

That Birds of paradise flower looks so beautiful

I recently bought a mahjong set after the world cup I must drag it out for my wife and I to play again :)

@birdsinparadise
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 62
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 170 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

What a sweet surprise @trufflepig! Thank you so much, you are awesome :)

honestly, you know just how to take these photos to make them that much more appetizing!! As if they even need any help in that area. Good Lord have mercy on my Food Fight Friday Contender!! Thanks for always joining in on the Food Flingin' Festivities

“The ghost of cover images past.”

Gorgeous pictures @birdsinparadise, if you register an alt account maybe coverimagequeen will still be available.

Did you say 70? Eh, did you know the UK doesn’t have a summer? I had to be here to believe it. Season goes like this:
Fall, winter, fall, spring, fall, winter, fall, spring, fall.... No summer.

Interesting, right?? Always a pleasure hanging out with you on Fridays, Birds. See you soon.

Would you mind if I were to go back for thirds, or maybe fourths hahaha
That looks like one crazy good meal there Mrs. Bird
Blessings!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a feast, beautifully prepared and presented. Way to go Ms. Bird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64