You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Blockchain dudes That Give Me Hope (For Gender Equality) #womenspeakout de limabeing- UNO

in #feminism6 years ago

Thanks for the mention, and while I'm not a man, I do benefit from male privilege, so I feel it is appropriate. During my journey of gender discovery I have identified for a while as male non-conforming for the sole purpose of accepting my share of the responsibility for the patriarchy. But as time went by, I found it harder and harder to identify that way, as I simply do not ever feel like a man.

Still, society places me very clearly at the men's side of privilege, and I accept that. I also have my own slowly shrinking set of behaviors that support the patriarchy. When I first heard about men dominating every form of discussion, I thought "I don't do that." I was wrong. I do. I just do it more subtly than the examples I was given.

Anyway, working on it. Here's to a better world. One I won't feel shitty being a part of, and one where I won't feel guilty bringing women into it.

Sort:  

Yea. it was a risk. but since you said you were fluid I thought you should still be recognized for your perspective within that construct. However if you are no longer identifying that way I apologize! I wasn't sure and even I was stressing to forget anyone who has been amazing for women on this platform that might not feel directly included. and just you being able to say all this is beautiful and amazing GIRL POWA IMO

I cant upvote you because im trying to bring my VP back up but i love your comment. thank you.

I'll upvote you instead then :)

I'm not trans, and I don't get offended easily by misgendering. I don't expect society to not treat me as a man, as, well, I present as a man. Either way, thank you for your sensitivity.

Happy I caught this discussion. I resonate.

I have never identified with the archetypes present. They're extremely horrifying examples of the far ends of a misconstrued for all spectrum, as I've had them foisted onto me.

As a being who exudes primarily outwardly "masculine energy," I do not relate to the typical American male narrative in any sense.

I'm a feminist. It's one of the first things that people in my life know by virtue of the life I live.

@limabeing, love you so much for sharing this post.

The narrative of angry feminist is lame. More times than not, feminists I have met are happy to see a spectrum of individuals being unified in this, gender politics aside (as bizarre as that may sound).

The narrative is lame thats why i think its funny. Ppl always take me seriously and shudder. I am bith happy and angry ---not to mention scared and brave.

P.s all these men are in team girl powa .. sort of a feminist lgbtqnb fortress altho not everyone is feminist or even the same type of feminist. Wanna join up, soldier? :P

I'm all about it!

I was going to ask about team girl powa delegations and all that, so this has actually been on my radar.

I am happy to be a part of this and make sure that when I'm doing readings (especially general ones for the public) that I'm not calling people on gender. One of the most horrifying things I have been around, especially as a person who does intuitive work is how some people only see things in a binary construct.

Many of the people I have read for do not even subscribe one way or another to a "gender" and I often will read for "She/He/They/Other."

We don't have any delegations specifically for tgp (yet) but @skyochica has a contest for lgbt curators and also delegates to myself and @thekittygirl we also had a huge delegationfrom @stellabelle for a coupke months and i was crazy upvoting but she has another project shes focusing on @slothicorn its really cool and fun! But she might do another. If you click my banner you will join us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50