5 Blockchain dudes That Give Me Hope (For Gender Equality) #womenspeakout de limabeing- UNOsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)

THIS POST IS ABOUT THE FELLAS.
What? Yes. You heard me right. yeah yeah im gonna talk up feminist idols and my beliefs and my struggles as a woman later... but I really wanted to start this on a slightly less obvious note

idealizeddream

okay maybe I will use this memeish thing

Some of you may know that I lead a group call #teamgirlpowa .We are growing, living fiercely, and learning from each other not to mention taking the blockchain by rainbows and lightning . We are from every continent (except antarctic, lol); spanning 4 + belief systems; feminist and non; an array of gender identified persons; from a variety of backgrounds and with skills ranging from engineering to mediating to researching to arting and of course badazz parenting (and more!)

Due to this we often discuss and come up with ideas for the blockchain that highlight out diversity and POWA . ;) Thus the wise, energetic, and poised mama-to-be @esaia.mystic came up with what is now called #womenspeakout : spearheded by the adorable, intelligent, and strong mom @katrina-ariel

I WAS PUMPED. Yet, also intimidated. :S I'm only recently diving into being a moderately serious adult. At first, I made a bunch of silly memes and plotted to crack everyone up. I also was gonna rant. Then I was gonna do some opinionated mic-droppin but I'm sitting here listening to QUEEN BEY and thinkin, nah. Lets leave out the magic tricks and just shoot from the boobs (if I had a gun it would be in a boob holster but thats the last joke ima make). How could a single, barely spiritual, messy, dramatic, openly half-assed, aggressively empathic mad women SPEAK OUT among these goddess waves?

OH. Right. talk about MEN. :D

Blockchain Dude #1: The official TGP vocal, straight, white(ish) feminist
@didic

I didn't do any drawrings but let me tell ya, this guy is a character. Well if you think the characters is a very patient, friendly, highly educated author, editor, and publisher that has done his homework about modern women..

I first began following @didic as a partner of @techslut but I increasingly enjoyed his responses. This was the first guy I saw on the blockchain openly supporting intersectional feminist beliefs and actually attempting to reach other men on the subject. Needless to say hes a pretty good writer and I can't stop singing his praises. Since we brought him in to girl powa he has brought up feminist authors, shared work by other women, and showed up for a number of events and meetings simply to support us. I joke that everyone should give him cookies, but seriously if I ever end up over there I plan to bring a couple batches (yes @techslut dear you and the rest of your family can have some too :P)
it started with https://steemit.com/love/@didic/how-to-succeed-with-women-with-hamilton-gifs inspired by techslut but still... hehe..

Blockchain Dude #2: My Curie Mentor, Musician, Crypto-Trader, and Epic Stay-At-Home Dad
@carlgnash

I probably don't have to explain much cuz he's kind of a big deal in many circles (mostly the circles in his head but still..). Actually character doesn't even cover this guy. He is enigmatic, effervesent, and I hope his amazing wife @dilemma doesn't mind me saying: super adorable. He has brought in so many amazing women to team girl powa as well as mentoring me to put more SBDs in my pocket (thats pretty much supporting women directly right there). Additionally Carl recently wrote this amazing post about his experience and acceptance of being moved to tears https://steemit.com/life/@carlgnash/tears-for-steem-a-true-story

Blochain Dude #3 - Surprisingly not evil corporate henchman
@jfolkmann
Jared came into Team Girl Powa with a BANG! he was looking for our input for his next project to support women and girls through blockchain technology!! wow. We set up an interview on GirlPowaRadio and and a full on brainstorm in which he not only listened but promised to take the ideas back to his team and meet with us again. Before , during, and after the interview I razzed him a lot but he was unphased. He told us about how his company has been moving towards solid efforts in gender equality, and supporting a number of women-focused charities. He himself thinks that feminism is a no brainer for many reasons including making sure his daughter grows up in world where she has freedom, choices, and equal respect for her efforts/skills.
He doesn't have any overtly pro-women or tradition challenging work on steemit yet* but look.. his photography is beautiful (psst okay so his wife shhh)
https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@jfolkmann/trying-to-take-a-picture-while-your-moustache-blows-up-your-nose

Blockchain Dude # 4- Sensitive, Open, Intelligent, Musician, Mother of Quails, and BusinessDude
@MenO

I believe @MenO and I started talking due to silly chats in MSP. I honestly can't remember. But he was a really good friend and listened to me rant a few times when I was having trouble dealing (as I often do). Not only did he listen but he let me tell him when I felt he was thinking within the construct of patriarchal society. Sounds like a low standard to have but honestly it means a lot for a woman like me. I'm much more emotionally expressive and easily frustrated than your average angry feminist (that is, i give a lotta fux about what people think. oops) He taught me about "mental ninja" through his story about his erm friends mom who taught him to stop being a bully. He has delegated to quite a few people, myself included -- i think specifically because he knows that I aim to support women and the lgbtqnb community. Thats just a guess though. HE WAS actually one of the very first members of #teamgirlpowa (although he's never actually visitied us-- @ankapolo has! Still waiting for @MenO to full on wave the #fuckthepatriarchy flag but who knows... maybe this will inspire him?

Blockchain Dude #5 - YUyu Enrique (name speaks for self)
@yusaymon
Since I began attempting to speak spanish to this vibrant and loving man I have to finally admit: I have a huge crush on him. Sorry. Not sure if he knows that and it might sound silly but heres why: He sees me. He enjoys my words. He respects me. And he does the same for everyone but mostly a lot of women. He makes art of his female friends because he sees the beauty in their souls even if they are a part-time angry crazy girl. We haven't fully discussed feminism but he has a lot of female friends that he openly supports both on his blog and as friends on discord.

butwait

awesome dudes i should mention @lunaticmoon @kofpato @martinsanders @nathenial @zofcamb @anaman @abh12345 @akmalbastaman @ah2002 @guiltyparties some times @edumurphy ...sometimes... I should also mention @poet although I hope thats not an insult.

there are more AND... I want all of these amazing men to join in THIS CHALLENGE. YES. I'm officially giving you permission to use #womenspeakout n i won't get mad and throw a tantrum.
** TELL US THE WOMEN THAT INSPIRE YOU TO CRYOR CHEERLEAD --- ON THE BLOCKCHAIN OR ELSEWHERE!**
it could be your mom, your little sister, @techslut (ok not everyone can say that @techslut is their role model. ) or maybe that really badass cartoon character that is more than her boobs.
get creative.
Get some tissues.
Let it out.
SPEAK OUT
with your love and respect
for
women with fire in their soul...

As Always

Lima Being aka Capn GirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention, and while I'm not a man, I do benefit from male privilege, so I feel it is appropriate. During my journey of gender discovery I have identified for a while as male non-conforming for the sole purpose of accepting my share of the responsibility for the patriarchy. But as time went by, I found it harder and harder to identify that way, as I simply do not ever feel like a man.

Still, society places me very clearly at the men's side of privilege, and I accept that. I also have my own slowly shrinking set of behaviors that support the patriarchy. When I first heard about men dominating every form of discussion, I thought "I don't do that." I was wrong. I do. I just do it more subtly than the examples I was given.

Anyway, working on it. Here's to a better world. One I won't feel shitty being a part of, and one where I won't feel guilty bringing women into it.

Yea. it was a risk. but since you said you were fluid I thought you should still be recognized for your perspective within that construct. However if you are no longer identifying that way I apologize! I wasn't sure and even I was stressing to forget anyone who has been amazing for women on this platform that might not feel directly included. and just you being able to say all this is beautiful and amazing GIRL POWA IMO

I cant upvote you because im trying to bring my VP back up but i love your comment. thank you.

I'll upvote you instead then :)

I'm not trans, and I don't get offended easily by misgendering. I don't expect society to not treat me as a man, as, well, I present as a man. Either way, thank you for your sensitivity.

Happy I caught this discussion. I resonate.

I have never identified with the archetypes present. They're extremely horrifying examples of the far ends of a misconstrued for all spectrum, as I've had them foisted onto me.

As a being who exudes primarily outwardly "masculine energy," I do not relate to the typical American male narrative in any sense.

I'm a feminist. It's one of the first things that people in my life know by virtue of the life I live.

@limabeing, love you so much for sharing this post.

The narrative of angry feminist is lame. More times than not, feminists I have met are happy to see a spectrum of individuals being unified in this, gender politics aside (as bizarre as that may sound).

The narrative is lame thats why i think its funny. Ppl always take me seriously and shudder. I am bith happy and angry ---not to mention scared and brave.

P.s all these men are in team girl powa .. sort of a feminist lgbtqnb fortress altho not everyone is feminist or even the same type of feminist. Wanna join up, soldier? :P

I'm all about it!

I was going to ask about team girl powa delegations and all that, so this has actually been on my radar.

I am happy to be a part of this and make sure that when I'm doing readings (especially general ones for the public) that I'm not calling people on gender. One of the most horrifying things I have been around, especially as a person who does intuitive work is how some people only see things in a binary construct.

Many of the people I have read for do not even subscribe one way or another to a "gender" and I often will read for "She/He/They/Other."

We don't have any delegations specifically for tgp (yet) but @skyochica has a contest for lgbt curators and also delegates to myself and @thekittygirl we also had a huge delegationfrom @stellabelle for a coupke months and i was crazy upvoting but she has another project shes focusing on @slothicorn its really cool and fun! But she might do another. If you click my banner you will join us

Awww my heart is so full right now. This is such an honor for me. I can't think of a better way or place to be called out than this post by @limabeing. I feel like I just won the frickin' Olympics. Cap'n TeamGirlPowa! oh Cap'n, my Cap'n, I will gladly follow your lead. Look for my posting on #feminism #womenspeakout #teamgirlpowa to come.

All the love - Carl

i see you invoke all of the devils to reward my efforts. lol. THERE IS NO DANA . THERE IS ONLY @zuul

yaay! cant wait

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

aaaawwww dear.... thanks for the mention. had this post open.
it's good to help anyways and i love the powa girls spirit

You earned it !!! :D ty for supporting us !!

This is the POST! This is fantastic. @limabeing you're a stand for EQUALITY and I respect and admire you infinitely. Thank you for creating a safe and strength-transmitting environment and for being a force for good.

You've been resteemed + followed as part of the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. Looking forward to keeping up with your posts!

Hi @limabeing! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @traciyork :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

I. Love. This. Post.

YES to taking Steemit with lightning and rainbows. :)

YES for women and men with fire in their soul.

Thank you for shining the spotlight on so many men (and @poet) who are being supportive. In my view, gender identification and sexual biology is a lot less important than how we treat each other. We are all having this human experience, with infinite possibility of creative expression. May we each walk our individual paths in ways that support each other.

Peace, love, respect, and gratitude!!!

Forrrr reeeaaalll .

Yayyyy Great Idea Branching Out like this Through your post 😃 excited to see all who accepts the challenge!

I am lucky to have men like @didic and @poet in my life. They give me hope and make me coffee. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48