Feminism & Motorcycles

in #feminism8 years ago

  

 I wanted to finally write about being a female in the biker community. Especially a single female in a biker community. If you have a significant other - getting dudes to leave you alone is much easier. However, I am single and hate making up a boyfriend to keep men away. My personal belief is why can't they control themselves? Just because I am single does not mean that I am also interested right away. They hope that I am interested or want them back but it is usually not the case.
 

I hear it time and time again when I end up ending "friendships" with these males because they couldn't stay friends. I hear it from other biker guys "well, I can't blame him". You can't blame someone for having lack of accountability and discipline around the opposite sex. REALLY… are you serious?    Having men as just platonic friends is nearly damn in possible in life in general. Adding motorcycles to the mix only seems to emphasize that fact. I have had to remove several males from my life including on social media due to their antics. Then they talk about me in a negative manner and make up stories about what I have said or done. Nothing I can do about them except remove them and let them talk.   I am currently spending a lot of time with one guy friend and everyone is assuming we're dating/fucking. That's how it works with males and females spending time together. As if it is impossible for the opposite sex to be just friends. I let people in my life and will hang around them until I feel it is no longer benefiting me positively. My friend Esau is a very good friend and has not said/done anything inappropriate toward me. It gives me hope that there are guys out there I can be friends with and not have any of the sexual tension [from their end].  

 A lot of males in the bike community want to ride with me. I know the main reason is because I am a girl and they find me attractive. The hope on there is they will get to fuck me or date me or something. I usually have to have this mentality to be on guard because it is so constant and common place. I don't ride my bike with strangers or randoms. The reason is mainly safety of being a lone female around a ton of males. I have to have my wits about me and go to events that I feel comfortable in. The comments and shit I deal with on a regular basis is pretty disgusting. It is unfortunate that still to this day females have to deal with such overt sexual harassment from men.   

Now do not get me mistaken because there are many women "bikers" who gives us actual riders bad names. These females and males do this too. It is just rare to have girl riders to begin with and then they go out and give us female riders bad names by their shitty behavior. One girl I won't name is married and "rides" I put it in parenthesis because not many females actually ride and put on miles. They get a bike because its "cool" and don’t ever/barely ever ride it. There are a ton of males who do the same thing. I think it's just more common place to know there are males who do not ride. When there are females who ride the assumption is that we ride for attention. Super frustrating because there are some of us who ride because we enjoy it.   I am apart of a few Facebook pages and a lot of them involve misogynistic comments toward women riders. Sometimes I want to comment troll on the men but other times I just have to roll my eyes and ignore it. I won't change much by commenting and then their eyes will be like the tower of Sauron and be fixated on me. Then I get picked on, bullied ,sexually harassed and the like.   I am doing my best to take a lot of this in stride and deal with it the best I can. 

I know I pose on my bike in a sexy way but my photos don't define who I am. It doesn't make me less of a rider or an attention seeking whore. In the last 2 months I put on 3,400 miles and if any females wants attention she just has to go out or go to every bike rides that are setup. I barely ride with other groups - not that I have to explain myself but sometimes it helps since people love to make assumptions. Anyway it's funny because a lot of these photos are honestly for myself. I never was confident and loved myself like I do today. Being single has led me to a more insightful state of being. I can be sexy, independent, confident, interesting, fun, pretty, cute, bad-ass, a mechanic, a horse lover, an artist and whatever else I want to be. No one defines who I am and what I am worth but myself.   

I only recently became known in this biker community and at times I regret it. So much drama, shit talking and lies that don't seem to stop. The reason I am here is not for those hatefilled people. I ride because it is a challenge that brings me joy. I love how it has brought me to become more limitless. My goal is to at least wheelie my f4i and if I like it then move to more difficult stunts. 

Pic below is me after making my 2k miles in around 4 weeks on my new bike.

I am a feminist and I will continue to demand respect or remove people who don’t treat me with any.

 

Sort:  

I am a man and an avid motorcyclist and I think I "get" what feminism is about. My understanding of the goal of feminism is to stop the objectification of women as SOLELY sexual beings.

I don't believe that you are trying very hard to further the cause. I respect that you are a person first, not just a thing that was placed on this planet for men to "fuck". But maybe you could cut us guys a break by not parading around with your big, beautiful, spandex-wrapped, bubble butt propped up on the back of that shiny crotch rocket while screaming "my eyes are up here, man". If you're really the motorcycle purist that you claim, you would never wear those pants; you would have leathers on or at least some moto jeans.

This post was plainly and simply intended to publicly stroke your ego while maintaining a thin veil of feministic ire.

Ride safe.

It is funny that you see me as a person first but right after that I am an object for you. Funny how that works - right?

So because I am a female and I choose to ride in yoga pants once in awhile - I am doing what wrong here? How many men ride shirtless, shorts, flip flops and etc. However, because I am a female and want respect for something other than my body - I should ride ATGATT? That is the definition of sexism. In order for me a female to gain respect - I MUST wear full gear always. What an obnoxious sexist viewpoint to have. If you don't believe you're being sexist then read the definition.

sex·ism
ˈsekˌsizəm/Submit
noun
prejudice, stereotyping, or discrimination, typically against women, on the basis of sex.
synonyms: sexual discrimination, chauvinism, gender prejudice, gender bias

I don't need my ego stroked - I can walk outside and get attention without a bike and in full workout attire with no skin showing. Trust me there are a lot of thirsty males out there giving all of the attention - all of the time. I don't need it - I wear what I feel comfortable in.

Men who believe women need to cover up are the same who victim blame women when they wear little clothing and are sexually assaulted by men.

You are lacking self awareness. There's no point in engaging with you really, but you're just so far off base you should hear it. You don't demand respect, you earn it. You completely objectify yourself, then complain about others doing it to you. You talk trash on men AND women. You're not a feminist. You are SELFISH. It's you, you, you. And you're not even hot, so get over yourself. Seriously.

You gave us an ass shot. You are whoring yourself out to the internet, Nothing wrong with that. Just don't claim you aren't objectifying yourself. The Cognitive Dissonance is real. Oh and I guarantee that you objectify me, one look at me shirtless, i'm irresistible babe. Love the booty, Do you squat? If not you should be, Make it a fucking masterpiece.

It works too, look at the pay out for the ass shots.

Loading...

Trust me there are a lot of thirsty males out there giving all of the attention - all of the time.

Wow, this sounds like arrogance. Not common sense or a good, nice selfesteem. It sounds more like "I'm fucking hot. I know it."

And it doesn't bother me. Very well. Everybody has his own ego, more or less a huge one. No problem there.

What it's really interesting is that with your above statement you just proved the opposite of "I don't like to be seen as an object. I'm a human being."

Of course you are, of course. One hot human being, of course.

Fuck, yes @moony! Awesome post, great summary and insight. You're such a great addition to the Steemit community. Glad you're here!

Yay! Thank you - feels good to finally write this one :D

I know I pose on my bike in a sexy way but my photos don't define who I am.

I know I have been shooting people but my actions don't define who i am

Can you believe this shit?

Hi @moony!! Great to have you fellow feminist (not that it makes me special lol)!

You should come find me on steemit.chat just tag me @beanz.

@Beanz not able to log in to the steemit chat. Not sure what the issue is but I have never tried to use this chat before.

Ah OK, well just know that I'm with you on this. Funny how you use the word feminism and suddenly you're a target for abuse.

Your education on feminism is just different from theirs because theirs came from the television. Your pictures are beautiful and I find them empowering, so thank you!

@beanz I will try to figure out the chat soon. I appreciate the support!

I muted them so it's a nice way to filter out the hate. Since I know there is no getting through to these trolls with nothing better to do. Maybe if they had hobbies being hateful wouldn't come so easy to them.

So glad to hear you find my pictures empowering! I think that's what steemit is about. Sharing our viewpoints with parts of our lives [in a positive way] to inspire, motivate, connect, create and more with one another. Talk soon! Much love 😌💗

Hi! You've been featured in my post.
Petition to take down EARNEST

These are hilarious! How passive-aggressive do you have to be to scream for attention while simultaneously bashiing anyone who gives it. If you want attention. That's cool. We all need it sometimes. But own that shit. Don't try to act like it is so tiresome to be constantly pursued.

It reminds me of that SNL skit with Mango... "Come to me! No go away!!!".

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/71424344061049736/

xD I thought they were awesome. Glad you liked them too!

i have to watch that snl skit now! lol

edit

my hero darlin! this is bad af i love it! great article ill write one soon that will blow your mind too!

Only you can decide what you consider respect.

Cool pics, great to see women do some andrenaline hunting.

Appreciate it! It is one of the best feelings :)

I dont know if you realize, but you're giving away your identity by showing your plates

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

I get the message. I understand that you want to be your sexual self and enjoy your ride. Yes the biker community is one that embraces free will and freer sex. But only for the men. You aren't allowed to act or show yourself in this manner cause there are decades if not centuries of behavior that dictates otherwise,

I would call it safe to assume that many on here that are calling you out for your 'attire' have never been in a group where the women were "protected" by "us" the guys. Anyone that stepped out of line in the group was confronted, and God help you if you were outside the group.

I get it, BUT, to expect anything other from the likes of steemit or any other social media is irrational thinking. Exposure to masses will cause all forms to creep out from the woodwork. I was a member of a club where yes women were objectified, but the lines were drawn and it was all in good fun. It's a culture that the women understood existed. They didn't have to be there and no one forced their presence, BUT once they were part of the club the lines were understood by all.

It's difficult at best for you to be in that culture and get the respect that you desire. It sucks and I get it. You have made a good point here in this post about it. But to believe that it's going to change in our life time... There are too many bitch on back types to allow for real effectual change.

I wish you the best tho in your fight for sexual freedom. I just don't think the biker world let alone these other clowns are prepared to truly understand that human respect applies to all humans, and unless you are wearing a hijab on a Harley the propensity for objectification is still there.

Go to a beach and see what happens if a random hits on a woman beyond that which is tolerated, put that same girl on a bike and she''s a fucking whore...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53