Feathered Friday: Seagulls

Seagulls are my bird of choice today. They are scavengers but clean up a lot of garbage.

Here on Prince Edward Island, you are most likely to find at least one seagull hanging around a fast food place. They are not afraid of humans and wait patiently to pick up a stray fench fry or some other tidbit of food.


image
Canon EOS Rebel T6
1/500 f/4.5 125MM ISO 100



These seagull were waiting and watching at the waterfront in Souris.


image


I thought this one was a pretty color.


image


Seagull enjoying the sea water. Most ones I see are this color.


image


Coming in for a landing...


image

“Hey, I think I need a pedicure!”



image


Although I don’t usually see seagulls around the property, this one landed on the roof of the shed.



Today is #featheredfriday hosted by my good friend @keithboone.

Check Here for challenge details.




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp and for your wonderful platform. 😊

Excellent shots, I could tell those gulls were raised on french fries - especially the one on the left in the first photo! I like the shot of them landing on the roof as well. Well done and thanks for entering Feathered Friday! voted and resteemed :-)

Thanks Keith. Yes that one does look well fed. 😂

Well howdy again redheadpei! You really got some great shots here! Are you saying the seagulls followed you home?

Haha. Well maybe they did Cowboy. I might be the seagull whisperer. 😂

Since I live on a river and not near any lakes, I seldom see seagulls in the area. But I can remember when we would travel up to Superior my kids used to love stopping at fast food places to feed french fries to the seagulls! I was surprised to learn how many different kinds of Seagulls there are. I just always assumed the seagull was a seagull.

The gulls stay around here all seasons and I often see them walking around at the grocery store and restaurant parking lots. There are different species but to me a seagull is a seagull except some have different colored feathers. 😊

I don't see them often enough to learn the different types. 28 different types in North America!

A great post featuring Seagulls Jo. I really love that first capture. Wonderful composition and clarity.

Thanks Trudee. They are easy to photograph as they are not afraid of people. 😊

Nice photos! By the way, relating seagull colours: all the spotted ones are actually juveniles, like the one on the third photo. Depending on the species, some can take up to three years until they get their adut colours! ;)

Thanks for the info. Now that I look closely at that one, it does look younger and is smaller than the others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42