Feathered Friday: Faithful Ones

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

#featheredfriday is hosted by @melinda010100. Check her post here.

Now that the cooler autumn weather is here, a lot of the birds have gone south but I still have my regulars around, such as the Blue Jays, Ravens, chickadees and woodpeckers - to name a few.

The faithful Blue Jays stay all year and in the colder weather there are more coming around as I put out food for them.


image


The grouse are seen much more in autumn as they come for the apples.

Here is a young grouse.


image


I was treated to a young male grouse displaying his mating techniques last week.


image


I posted more about the mating game of this grouse here.

A little female Downey Woodpecker was in the tree in the front yard. The female doesn’t have the red patch on the head like the male.

I tried to get a better shot but she moved around the tree as soon as she saw me.


image

The Hummingbirds left awhile ago. I cleaned their feeders and put them away for next spring when the hummers return. The same ones come back each spring.


image


The cute little hummers are always a delight to see and I always look forward to their return.



image

No matter the season, there’s always some interesting wildlife to be seen.


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

All photos taken by me.




62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


image

Sort:  

I love the bluejay, but isn't Mr Squirrel supposed to sit there? Also, that young grouse is very cool. Have you ever seen them when they're just hatched? So tiny, not much bigger than bugs... Lovely post, thanks for sharing!

Thanks Keith, Mr. Squirrel has to be on the ball to get that post. 😂 Actually there’s a baby squirrel around these days.

You got hummers, that's cool! And the shot on the first bird is quite good. I like the pose, the environment...all.

Thanks @manoldonchev. I’m happy you like the shots. 😊

You are right! Your winter friends are mostly to same as mine!

I think the birds I see here stop at your place on their way South. 😊

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thanks so much @helpiecake and @free-reign. Appreciated. 😊

Blue Jays! Blue jays used to be my favourite bird as a child, but only because of the Toronto Blue Jays. These days I'm rather partial to ravens. :)

I've never seen a hummingbird! Oddly enough I thought the woodpecker (something I've also never seen...) was a kookaburra when I first saw it!

I’ve never seen a kookaburra. 😊

Looks a lot like a Woodpecker apparently!

Great shots and all that I can say to your birds Lady Jo, is to come south hahaha
Blessings!

Nice Blue Jays and others bird photography.

A gorgeous line up of birds @redheadpei. Obviously the food is the issue for the birds in winter so with you feeding them, they stay.😊

Howdy redheadpei! What a wonderful selection of photos and what a pleasure to be in a place where you can have those birds around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99