Feathered Friday: Cedar Wax Wings

Welcome to #featheredfriday hosted by @melinda010100. She has been good enough to take on this tag so please check Here for info and send those wonderful feathered creatures her way.

I was delighted to see a couple of Cedar Wax Wings in the apple tree among the blossoms.


Cedar Wax Wing


image



The Cedar Wax Wings go South in winter and return to more southern parts of Canada when the weather warms in the spring.


image


The colors on their chest and head remind me of the reddish brown color of cedar. Like the raccoon, they have the bandit black marking extending from the eyes. There is gray and brown feathers through the back but the cedar color is more prominent when you see them.

I didn’t have my longer lens on the camera and it was difficult to get a close-up of these beautiful birds.

image


The Cedar Wax Wings were also checking out the pin cherry blossoms. These birds like open areas where they have access to berries.

I hope to see more of them when the pin cherries ripen. The pin cherries are very small with a large seed and although good to eat, I leave them for the birds.



Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved






#thealliance




image

Sort:  

Wow Sweetie! What a beauty! Stunning shots on that flowering tree 🌸😍🌸

Thanks so much Lena. I’m happy you liked them. 😊

My pleasure Sweetie 🌸😉🌸

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a beautiful bird and the photos are really good

Thanks Denisse. I’m glad you like them. 😊

The photos are amazing Jo!! I've never seen a Cedar Wax Wing before..it is a beautiful bird!! 💖

Thanks Dee. They are lovely to see with the gold color of the feathers. 💕

You are welcome Jo!!

Cedar waxwings are in my top five favorite birds. They are so beautiful! I get them every spring when the berries on the holly tree are ripe. They stick around until all the berries are gone and I don't see them until the next year. It always feels like a royal visitation when they show up. You got some really great shots of them!

Thanks @goat-girlz. I’m always happy to see them visit.

wao, what beautiful photos, especially those with the sky in the background, I congratulate you, they are great.

Thanks @blessed-girl. Appreciate your visit and lovely comment.

What a beautiful photo! I have only seen them here a few times over the years and I think I need to do some research on what I can plant that will attract them. They are such beautiful birds.
Thanks for your kind words promoting #featheredfriday. I do enjoy seeing everyone's posts!

Thanks and most welcome Melinda.
The wax wings like fruiting trees and scrubs. They should like your place with the water close by.

There are some buckthorns along the creek and I have seen them come in to eat the berries during the late winter, but I don't think they are particularly attracted to the fruit.

Awesome photography Cedar Wax Wings bird and the pin cherry blossoms.

beautiful shots.. don't think I've ever seen any of these birds

Thanks @shadowpub. They don’t come by very often but are a delight to see when they do. 😊

The white flowers and the smooth bird very nice

Thank @brittandjosie. I’m glad you like them. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34