30 days without food - End of day 1

in #fasting6 years ago

It's 29 hours since I last ate, which means I have another 691 to go to complete the 30 day water-fast that I've committed to. Having completed many 24 hour fasts over the past couple of years, my body has not changed an awful lot over the past day, and so for this post I want to document my reasons for fasting rather than my current experience of it.

Why I am fasting

It's really difficult to know what is true and what is not in this world without experiencing things for yourself. And having heard so many great benefits to extended water fasting, I've become incredibly curious to know if the downright magical changes in the human body that are reported to occur during fasting have any truth to them.

I have conducted two separate seven day fasts in the past, and while I did not see any scars healing or notice any dramatic effects to my health, I certainly did feel great from an emotional perspective.

This time I want to take things a lot further and see if I can heal my scars, and even the damage I know my brain has suffered as a result of drug abuse in my teens and early 20's. I have read that this type of healing does not occur until at least two weeks into a water fast, and so by aiming for 30 days, I think I will have given my body plenty time to undergo significant and noticeable changes.

I've also recently quit smoking, and would like to see if fasting for a prolonged period of time will speed up the process of eliminating the tar from my lungs.

Beyond the physical benefits to my health that I hope to verify throughout this journey, I am also far more curious as to what effect this fast will have on my mind. I recall that on my previous seven day fasts, I found myself on the seventh day having an extremely quiet mind. This time around I intend to meditate each day and note how much easier or more difficult it is to slip into a deep meditative state.

I am not entirely sure that I will not die going 30 days without eating, but I am committed to this and do not intend to break my fast unless it seems I have no choice but to do so.

Each day I will documenting how I am feeling and any changes in my body that have taken place, mostly for myself, but also for any who are curious to follow the journey with me.

I am not advising anyone to go 30 days without eating. This is something I feel compelled to do, and have finally found the inspiration to do. You are responsibly for your own choices. Just like the rest of us.
Sort:  

Fasting is super healthy if you consider certain boundaries of your body! Good luck :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @the.seeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87