Pull Request Submitted - Updates to the FAQ Page

in #faq7 years ago

I submitted a pull request to make several updates to the condenser (Steemit.com) FAQ page.

Questions Updated:

  • Will the reward pool pay out more or less depending on who votes?
    I added clarification on how the rewards pool works.
  • How do I get more STEEM Power?
    I updated the instructions to be consistent with the new UI for buying STEEM/SP.
  • What do the dollar amounts for pending payouts represent?
    I added this question/answer to explain to users what the dollar amounts they see on Steemit.com mean.
  • How do Steem Dollar to STEEM conversions work
    I removed the language that said that said 'the difference is generally minor', since SBD conversions are currently off by more than a small amount.
  • Is there a way for me to convert my Steem Dollars to STEEM without waiting 3.5 days?
    I added text explaining that users may get a better rate using the internal market rather than converting.
  • How can I withdraw my STEEM or SBD coins?
    I updated the instructions to include the fact that users can now withdraw STEEM and SBD tokens from their wallet using the new BlockTrades "Sell" link that was recently added to the wallet.
  • What is my voting power?
    I updated and clarified the explanation of what voting power is and how it works.
  • How many times can I vote without depleting my voting power?
    I updated this to be consistent with HF 19, and also clarified it.
  • What is @cheetah?
    I added a link to the new @cheetah FAQ: https://steemit.com/steemit/@cheetah/faq-about-cheetah.
  • How can I extract these keys from my master password?
    I removed this question and answer because it was causing confusion for new users.

The pull request can be viewed here:
https://github.com/steemit/condenser/pull/1537

The PR is not accepted yet, but I plan to work with Steemit, Inc. to make any edits necessary to get it approved. Hopefully we will see the changes up on the live site soon!


Reminder to vote for witnesses!
The Steem witnesses are the elected leaders of the community that power the blockchain. Everybody should learn about the Steem witnesses and vote on who they think is best. If you don't know much about witnesses or aren't sure who to vote for, you can check out this Witness Voting Guide. If you think @timcliff is doing a great job, please consider voting for him as witness! You can vote for witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Thanks so much for making these changes to the FAQ. I remember as a wide-eyed newbie to Steemit how often I use to check the FAQ page - I must have read it a half dozen times before I began posting.

These constant updates will ensure that more newcomers to our community are well-informed and it will prepare them to participate more comfortably and sooner. Thanks @timcliff!

Well done! This will be helpful for a lot of people!

All great stuff, for people who are weary and asking me about steem its, "can you really pull your money out, or is it stuck in there?" So thats awesome with a FAQ guide to converting. One thing I'm worried about is the random flagging that I see killing people's up votes and pay amounts. Thanks for another addition to the community @timcliff !

This explains the payout system better than my previous understanding of it, thanks!

Great post, @timcliff and I appreciated the information you included about witnesses at the bottom. I'm new here and haven't learned that much about witnesses yet. I've already voted for Luke because I came across his post where he explained what he was all about. He seemed very knowledgeable and dedicated so I felt comfortable voting for him. I was wanting to vote for others too, but just did not have easy access to the info and didn't want to simply randomly vote.

I'll now be sure to vote for you as well and will check out the witness guide you posted a link to. It really seems like you're about helping out us newbies which is much appreciated!

Very cool, I'm glad it's helping!

All this point are so usefull thanks alot man ...much needed one

@timcliff - thank you so much - didn't know a FAQ existed - silly of me - will stop posting/curating till I read it thoroughly.

I thought I already voted for your witness- is advisable to vote again? Do multiple votes "stack" like promotion? Does voting for you do more than just give you emotional support?

You can only vote once per witness. The more votes a witness has, the higher their rank. It helps if other users remove votes, or other witnesses get more votes to be able to keep your spot :)

Thanks for the info. I just now, after several months found a mention in a comment about steemithelp.net.

Probably one of your comments, in fact.

@timcliff your work for the community is INVALUABLE!
I appreciate you and the hard work you put in. Thank you.

I appreciate the effort you are putting forth. Those are all questions that I see posted all the time and that need clarification. Thanks for posting.

This is great, thank you @timcliff. I had just posted comments over on the @steemitblog post about HF19 on Wednesday about the Voting and Curating FAQs needing to be updated. Wasn't sure who to direct that kinda stuff to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52