3d printing Henna the faunettesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fantasy7 years ago

http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/hennahead001.png
Remember Henna? the faunlike creature I created in Blender If you do not, you can look:
Here
or
Here
Well, since I had the model made in blender and since I own a 3dprinter I decided to try and print a real life version of her.
as with the german spähwagen that i posted about Here, I had to make a few correction to be able to print it. In Hennas case it was easy though. the model was already a 2manifold mesh i only needed to take care of the printdirection problems. Oh yeah and redo the hair completely since that is a particle system in the original model.
Getting the printdirection was not a big deal since it turned out that by just cutting the mesh under the shoulders I got two printable parts neither of which required any scaffolding.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/scaled_full_0814866f2de0d5e234ee.jpg
And here it is assembled and put on a small base
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/scaled_full_867590d669156287dbb5.jpg
I also created a nice buste by just printing the upper part.
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/scaled_full_b708c2f237a59787c568.jpg
I painted it with my usual acrylic paints. Most of mine are games workshop paints but i guess any acrylic will do.
Voila suddenly its something I can place in my windowsill.
Unfortunately I dont have a photo of the fully printed figurine because it is rather brittle and one of the legs broke of after a bad fall. I will get it fixed though and then I can maybe post an image with paint.

until next time.

Sort:  

Nice work looks very graceful. do these prints always break very easily?

Thanks. No not necessarily. To save material (and printing time) they are usually printed hollow or with just a honeycomb pattern inside. These settings are tweakable so its easy to set it to solid or to a higher wallthickness. I made a nut and bolt set to test at some point and i cant even break that with my fingers if i wanted to.

I love her, she's creepy and cute at the same time.

thanks yeah I was going for cute but I see what youre saying.

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53