You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homeschooling Is Our Choice - Reasons Why We Homeschool

My grown son,26, says if he ever has children he wants to homeschool them. I think it's great that you are able to do it and I think it's even better that you are a former teacher. I have a niece,33, that tried to homeschool 2 of her children for kindergarten and she just kind of gave up and didn't stick with it when her boys didn't cooperate with her. The next year she enrolled each of them in public school kindergarten a year late. She is not trained to be a teacher and really loves the baby/toddler stage. She has 4 boys! I've heard of success stories so I know it is possible. I didn't home school but I was very involved with my children especially when they were in kindergarten through 6th. I read extra with my kids, I was their scout leader and Sunday School teacher. They probably got sick of how involved I was in their lives!! Both my kids could read by the end of kindergarten. My son(my oldest) told me how happy he was that I was a stay at home mom until he was in 6th grade and then I only became a substitute for the school district. Anyway, like I said I'm happy for you that you get to home school your children! I can tell from your posts that you are a great teacher!

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment! Yeah, I have some relatives who have also done some homeschooling and some who say they would never do it because of personality conflicts between parents and kids. I like that we can immediately work on any issues that arise instead of hearing about it from a teacher and dealing with it hours after it happens. Like attitude, kindness, sharing, and even biting! Nice that you were able to do so much with your kids growing up. My mom also stayed home and then my parents also taught our Sunday school so it was nice to have that as well. I'm glad we have the choice to get to homeschool. Panamanians can't, but we hear the law here is that you can do whatever is legal in your country. So for a German, they cannot homeschool either, but we can since it's legal in the US. It is illegal in Costa Rica as well, so there are no homeschool families that live there (that I know of at least).

Wow @apanamamama, that's terrible that it is against the law to homeschool in those countries! I never knew that.

Yes, during the Obama administration, there was a family seeking asylum in the US from Germany who homeschooled. They knew as soon as they returned home they would be arrested. Obama sent them home. :(

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67931.04
ETH 3244.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67