Starting the New Year with Family First!

in #family6 years ago (edited)

Although I do not fully buy into the idea of New Year's resolutions, I have been thinking about a part of my life I want to improve on. I want to be a "family first" kinda guy, and to be more specific I want to have an "authentic presence" in the life of my wife and kiddos.

heart-700141_640.jpg
Image Source

I Am Not That Bad, Am I?


I would not call myself an absentee father. And I am pretty sure that my wife and my kiddos would say that I am a present husband and father. But when we do not strive toward making meaningful change in our lives, we often grow complacent. And then complacency leads to inaction, and inaction leads to a decline.

I don't want to stand still in this part of my life. I want to engage deeply and more meaningfully each and every day.

Great Start To The Year


Today was a great day. I had the day off so our time as a family was even more focused than usual. My wife and I watched Crazy Rich Asians. We enjoyed some laughs as we caught some of the subtle nuances of the film. As we watched, we missed southeast Asia (a part of the world we had lived in for over 10 years) Singapore was our go-to location for visa runs. Because my wife needs quality time, I have to be intentional to meet that need in her life. Sometimes a movie can be what she needs, sometimes not. Even though we have been married for 17 years, I am still a student of who she is.

We played several rounds of 7 Wonders. Our family really likes to play board games and cards game so it was fun to introduce this game to my wife and oldest daughter. I borrowed from a guy at work.

We watched plays starring a few of our dancing princesses and viewed artwork that had been created throughout the day.

As I think back over the last 24 hours, I can honestly say that my heart is filled.

But What About Tomorrow?

Tomorrow starts the normal grind again. We still live together in the same home. We still will eat at the same table. We still will shuffle around the same space as we get ready in the morning and as we prepare for bed.

But if we are not intentional, we will run around all day being around each other, but we not being with each other. And what concerns me, even more, is what if I was not asking this question? How many people (fathers, mothers, husbands, and wives) have grown complacent and don't even know they should be wanting more?

My Next Steps


Being family-first requires action. The following are just a few of things I want to focus on as I continue to push towards a family first lifestyle:

  • When my wife speaks, I want to give her my eyes, my ears, and my heart.
  • When my daughters want to show me their plays and artwork, I want to be a student of their creations.
  • I want my family to receive more of my time and energy than my smartphone.
  • I want to spend more time on activities that improve creativity instead of dulling my senses, both for myself and as a family.
  • I want to spend time developing myself spiritually so that I can lead my family well.

Final Thoughts


I want to focus on gradual changes that I can make in my life that allow me to be a better husband and father. I want to be present and engaged. I want to fill up my family's love tanks and meet their love needs.

I can't be content will standing still. I want to press forward. I need to grow.

I would love to hear from you.

  • How are you engaging your spouse and/or children?
  • If you were being completely honest, are you in decline, maintaining, or making progress in this part of your life?

Thanks​ for stopping by!

@SumatraNate

Sort:  

I to avoid making new Years resolutions but I do a few times a Year asses where i am at and setting life goals or priorities, and it seems here you have set yourself some great goals to focus on and good luck to you to be able to strive to achieve them

I don't like the idea of New Year's resolutions either. I find that I am more likely to make a positive change when I am striving for incremental change throughout the year. Blessings to you in this New Year!

That sums up exactly how I am these days slowly but surely rather than the big bang ones :)

We can always be a bit better than we were yesterday and your plan to do so is pretty amazing. Your entire family will benefit from it, kudos! I do not have children but am there for my hubby and the rest of my family. Enjoy 2109, may it be happy and filled with smiles and love!

I am sure your husband appreciate you being there for him. I know that I greatly appreciate my wife. She is my best friend and biggest supporter. May your 2019 be filled with blessings and love as well.

What a lovely post! I love how you value and treasure your family . This was such a beautiful inspirational message. I have been married 12 years and ever so often my husband and I can feel when there is distance between us. Distance that we have allowed due to other activities, focusing on our personal goals or projects or just being tired from our everyday routine. I think it’s important to talk about these things and recognize the causes of such situations.

We both have made a better effort to be here more (without faces in our phones or at the computer) but to be here in the moment enjoying each other and our children. I’ve purposely have been away from Steemit more to spend more quality time with my family. Family is first!

Many blessings to you all and I hope you take all the steps listed above and are able to make those changes :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.243 which ranks you at #2743 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 2736).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #171.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Family is always first.
Happy New Year @sumatranate!!

Nicely spoken and so true to tune in more often with your family. I try to do that more often now too, Thanks for reminding. It’s better than the phone in my hand, i’m aware of that and need to let it rest more. I also think it’s good to re-load more often, like 5-10 minutes me-time so you can Give the attention they need fullest. Take good care of yourself makes that you can take good care of otters...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 360 (1/03/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27