It’s Happened Again! - The Third Febrile Seizure We Have Experienced With Our Children - Why We Decided Not To Admit Our Son Into The Hospital Once It Passed!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #family7 years ago (edited)

83D480B8-F0BE-4957-ADE8-DAFF1FCCE165.jpeg

source

This is exactly how our 17 month old son looked once his seizure started to calm. This was his second febrile seizure. A febrile seizure happens when there is a sudden spike or sudden drop in your babies body temperature. He had his first one when he was only 6 months old and it’s very terrifying to go through. It is not known for a febrile seizure to be life threatening but when you see your baby convulsing and seeming to be unconscious it feels life threatening.

The medics told us we did everything we were supposed to do. Our son has been fighting an air virus the last several days. Yesterday was the first day he strikes a fever. We were instantly on it because we know a spike in temperature can cause such a seizure. If you have been following my blog for awhile you know that we are a family of Natural Remedies. But when we have witnessed this more than once (once in my 6 year old son when he was 2 and now twice for our baby) we can’t take any chances with temperature. Yes we can try Natural ways to keep his fever down but sometimes that takes too long and before you know it it’s too late. So we opted to give him infant Tylenol throughout the day to be safe.

6DE8BD2F-315C-4699-97B1-02390AB23493.jpeg

source

Here’s where febrile seizures get tricky. You can give your child Tylenol and plenty of fluids but it’s hard to catch when their temperature rises or drops quickly. It had been three hours after his last Tylenol dose and my husband was holding him in his arms. I was upstairs napping because oh yes I too am sick and needed rest. This virus has got most of my family down right now. I wake up to hear my husband yelling,

Babe wake up, it’s happening again. Call 9-1-1!!!

Of course my heart sunk into my stomach because I already knew what was happening. I get up immediately and get help on the way. When this happened the last time, we told ourselves we would not panic and we would be able to get through this on our own. We know that we should:

PRAY CONTINUOUSLY
Lay him on his side (in case he drools you do not want him on his back)
Make sure nothing is in his mouth during the seizure
Clear all hard objects from around him
Do not try to move his body during the seizure
Rub his body down gently with alcohol to try and cool his body
Put a cool rag on his forehead
Watch to make sure he keeps breathing
Stay with him until it passes

But when it’s actually happening all confidence goes out the window that we can do this without medical assistance because it looks so terrifying. My husband admitted he did panic and later on realized we shouldn’t have called for help. This seizure didn’t last as long as the first one (this one was 5 minutes and the first one was almost 15 minutes long) and it wasn’t as severe (meaning he wasn’t convulsing as much). Yet we still were afraid to take a chance so we opted for help.

Because this was his second seizure the paramedic team insisted we take him into Pediatric Emergency. We agreed and my husband rode with the baby in the ambulance and I drove behind them. At this point they were checking his vitals to make sure he was okay. Once we got to the hospital my husband saw that he was coming to, our son started to open his eyes and look around. This was a good sign that he was okay and the seizure was fully over. My husband explained to me we should just take him home instead of checking him in. Those three times we have called for an ambulance stays on our records. We knew that we would have to answer tons of questions and there would be further write up on our children and their seizures. Even though we were told we did the right things, somehow this could backfire on us and we could be listed for a visit from health services.

E16F8383-FD4C-48F2-8146-8FA96ED63D20.jpeg

source

Now let me tell you about health services if you are unfamiliar. My neighbor has 3 sons that all have very severe asthma attacks. They are allergic to peanuts mainly and some other things. She told me after her middle son had his 3rd asthma attack, she was visited by a health service employee. The lady stated she needed to come into her home to “check” and make sure things were safe and everyone was okay. My neighbor knew she was being investigated for abuse and the department wanted to check their living conditions. She complied and let her in and since then she has visited her 3 times. If this lady from the health department found anything she thought was abuse she could have easily reported the parents to CPS. Thank God this never happened and as of today it seems she has stopped visiting them.

So if you have a child with a health condition and have to call for an ambulance more than once, it seems you will automatically be targeted for someone to come and check for abuse or maltreatment. It’s sad the way it is, knowing we want the best for our children and try to make the best health decisions for them. If you have asked for help you may just be targeted. This was one of the reasons we decided to continue to care for him at home. We feel the more you stay around the hospital the more risky it is. Especially for my family that homeschools and does not vaccinate. We would really be at the top of their hit list.

Of course people may think we’re crazy for not letting him get checked in but we knew he was okay. We knew at that point he was back with us and just needed more fluids and rest. This happened yesterday and today his temperature has stayed down and he is playing like normal. I don’t let him out of my sight just in case but we know he’s okay now. Unfortunately a child can have a febrile seizure up to age 4. We’re just hoping this was his last one. Lord forbid it happens again, but if it does we have made the decision to do what we were taught to do (by the medical teams and from our own experience) and see to it that he gets through it and comes out safely from it.

Have you ever heard of these child seizures? I pray none of your children EVER experience one.

6C62B44B-663A-4819-926C-07B9BAB9A68F.png

Sort:  

I can not begin to imagine what it must be like to watch your child go through such trauma and be helpless to do anything.

I think your instincts were right to turn back and take care of your child yourselves and I truly hope you never have to go through this again.

I'm sure he is getting all the love, care and attention he needs, and will be back on his feet in now time.

My thoughts are with your family this night.

Thank you so much Mark. These have been the worst experiences we have ever went through regarding our children. I don’t think I can bare seeing another one.

Thank you for your support and encouragement! He is doing really well now and his fever has stayed down. Hopefully he will soon get over this ugly sick bug that’s causing his fevers.

So touch about your post
Well, all is going to be fine by the grace of God just have faith.
I pray this should be the last.
I love and care for your baby so much

Thank you very much for your warm comment. Our faith and trust in God is the only thing that gets us through tough times such as these. Thank you so much for your prayers~

You welcome....
How is he?..... Guess is very much better now @crosheille
God is in control

Thank you for asking! He is so much better...fever gone and he is back to himself again :). Yes God is always in control, we look to Him for help and healing. God Bless you~

Thanks to God.... Am very happy

When I was a baby I had a fever spike so high my mom describes me as "twitching", which I think may have been a small seizure instead of the full-blown ones you're experiencing. I'm pretty proactive on fevers because of this, and because of exactly the situation you're describing: you end up being terrified (by a terrifying occurrence: I've witnessed grand mal seizures and it is truly terrifying) and calling for help and then can really have that backfire.

For what it's worth, I've found the infant ibuprofen is quite a bit more effective than Tylenol and also lasts twice as long, so a dose at bedtime carries them through the night when they can do that sudden fever spike. The other benefit of the ibuprofen is that it also is an anti-inflammatory, so any sore throat or other inflammation coming along with the virus gets some relief in the process of bringing down the fever. I will generally let a low grade fever progress in the hopes of killing the virus, but nighttime is tricky and I usually dose the kids to keep the fever in check and also to help them get a deep night's sleep (because they're more comfortable) in hopes of letting them heal quicker.

It is really smart to be proactive on these. So you know exactly what I mean when I say terrifying...it truly is. Thank you so much the infant ibuprofen tip! They didn’t have any where we purchased the Tylenol but I will definitely be looking out for it now. Yes it’s hard for me to sleep at night because I don’t want the medicine to wear off and his temperature to spike while we sleep. This is really good to know, thanks again :)

Wow I cannot imagine going through something like this and it’s not a first for you

I cannot imagine the emotional pressure you all went through

Sending positive thoughts your way and wishing your son all the best and a full recovery

Thank you so much for your thoughts and concerns. It’s been a tough journey and I hope we never have to witness anything like this again.

He is doing well, fever has stayed down and no more seizures. I pray it stays that way. We’re just trying to get rid of this sick bug that’s causing the fevers. My whole family has been down since the New Year. It’s so exhausting.

I think its going around everywhere i have had so many friends down with bugs and virus of recent , wishing your family good health and positivity

Yes it is. It seems families from all over have been hit with it. Thank you so much for the well wishes!

That poor baby having to go through those seizures. If you are sure on how to take care of your child then I think you made a good choice.

Thank you so much for your thoughts. He is doing much better thank the Lord! Yes we believe we made the best decision as well.

It's surprising the sort of occurrences you can get used to. The bigger problem isn't the seizure, but what the child is interrupted doing when it happens. If they're playing happily, they could end up falling and hurting themselves. Or if they're in the bath, it could also be a problem.

You'll probably be able to spot behaviors that lead up to it which can be a warning. And if they get sick, you might want to do Tylenol before bed to keep their temperature down through the night so they don't have one that's unmonitored while sleeping. If you have an in-ear or forehead thermometer it's a lot easier than waking them up, too. You can pop in real quick, check em out, and they sleep on.

And if the seizures are all febrile, you have to watch that temperature. The temperatures is the only reason you would need to take them to the hospital, not the seizure itself. Or, if the nature of the seizure's change, you need to see a doctor.

Make sure nothing is in his mouth during the seizure

Also make sure it stays that way, if he vomits during the seizure it could end up going out his nose and mouth and becoming a choking hazard.

And with regard to the visits from CPS. I think these are a good thing. Are they a hindrance? Maybe, but you know what? If they're able to find people that really need help this way, I'd put up with the inconvenience because there are people out there far less fortunate.

So, out of curiosity, did you get lucky and did the doctors, emt, or nurses actually witness a seizure before they believed you that that is what it was?

This is definitely an occurrence I never want to get used to. I never want to get used to seeing my child seizing as such. I appreciate your touch of advice and ideas. Both times he has went through this it has been during the day when he’s right next to us. We always give him one more dose of Tylenol before going to bed just in case it spikes at night. The crazy thing is it’s hard to know when a febrile seizure is coming on. We could have just taken his temperature than all of a sudden it rises and he instantly begins seizing. It’s like a sudden attack that occurs.

I personally do not trust the CPS and what they really stand for today. I feel their operations and intentions have been corrupted and they are doing more damage than a service to families. We will do whatever we have to do to avoid contact with them.

Yes every time we have called the ambulance they have witnessed our sons going through their seizures. The emt are the ones that confirmed with us that these were febrile seizures. So with their guidance and from our experience we know we are equipped to handle situations like these should they arise again.

A visit from CPS is pretty much NEVER a good thing. It means someone suspects you of abusing your children, which is bad enough; but the power they are invested with means if there is anything about you they just don't like, you could very well lose your children. Innocence and guilt means nothing in these circumstances, only the inclinations of the CPS official. That is why many of us are so concerned about never, ever, ever incurring a CPS investigation. We just don't know if we would get a good and reasonable official or one on a power trip.

Oh my. I couldn't even imagine going through something like this with my children. Praying daily. @ironshield

And you don’t ever want to @ironshield. It’s unimaginable and horrific to witness. Thank you for your prayers~

One of the consequences of seizures is neuronal death, so my recommendation is to make periodic evaluations to the baby regarding evolutionary development. You could give your vote in my first publication

Thank you for your feedback on this.

Grow up healthy and do not be ill!

This is what I pray for all of my children. I wish none of them to ever be ill. But when it strikes we just need the knowledge on how to take the best care of them.

Informative and well written, Thanks for sharing @crosheille

Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71