You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It’s Happened Again! - The Third Febrile Seizure We Have Experienced With Our Children - Why We Decided Not To Admit Our Son Into The Hospital Once It Passed!

in #family7 years ago (edited)

When I was a baby I had a fever spike so high my mom describes me as "twitching", which I think may have been a small seizure instead of the full-blown ones you're experiencing. I'm pretty proactive on fevers because of this, and because of exactly the situation you're describing: you end up being terrified (by a terrifying occurrence: I've witnessed grand mal seizures and it is truly terrifying) and calling for help and then can really have that backfire.

For what it's worth, I've found the infant ibuprofen is quite a bit more effective than Tylenol and also lasts twice as long, so a dose at bedtime carries them through the night when they can do that sudden fever spike. The other benefit of the ibuprofen is that it also is an anti-inflammatory, so any sore throat or other inflammation coming along with the virus gets some relief in the process of bringing down the fever. I will generally let a low grade fever progress in the hopes of killing the virus, but nighttime is tricky and I usually dose the kids to keep the fever in check and also to help them get a deep night's sleep (because they're more comfortable) in hopes of letting them heal quicker.

Sort:  

It is really smart to be proactive on these. So you know exactly what I mean when I say terrifying...it truly is. Thank you so much the infant ibuprofen tip! They didn’t have any where we purchased the Tylenol but I will definitely be looking out for it now. Yes it’s hard for me to sleep at night because I don’t want the medicine to wear off and his temperature to spike while we sleep. This is really good to know, thanks again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69