Our Baby is EIGHTEEN. 18 years old. Holy Beans. Happy Birthday Abyni

in #family6 years ago

Abyni-collage-800.png

Today is the 18th anniversary of the day I pushed a human out of my body for the very last time. @abyni was born in an inflatable kiddie pool in my bedroom. I think maybe that's why she has always loved the water so much!

Abyni spent the majority of her life as the baby of the family being spoiled by all of her older siblings and never quite realizing that she was younger than the rest of them. Even as a baby, she'd try to get up and run with the big kids and just fall right over because she hadn't learned to walk yet.

She never really crawled, just went from standing to walking and running everywhere.

Then came the great migration when our middle three kids pretty much all moved out at the same time and suddenly she was an "only child" for a couple of years. That seriously changed the dynamics of our family and the whole routine so much more than I ever imagined.

AGT4.png

Abyni is an incredibly talented musician. She taught herself the ukulele and then the guitar. She sings, writes songs and does a lot of covers on her YouTube channel She took Sound Engineering last year and really excelled at those classes. She's got the talent AND the harder to find stick-to-it-iveness that she must have gotten from her dad, because I certainly don't have that kind of motivation!

self portrait 2.png

She's been really working on her artistic skills the last few years as well and has done a lot of amazing things. She's in her second year of visual media design classes at our local, amazing Technical school.

Abyni-boat-400.png

She spent almost two full years on a sailboat, traveling from Floriday, throught he Bahamas, to Turks and Caicos and the Dominican Republic. She got to experience all sorts of things, from swimming with dolphins, swimming in the ocean daily to weathering hurricane Matthew and sailing during a rogue storm that knocked the mast off of the sailboat when she was traveling with her dad and brother.

Abyni-jolene-400.png

She's auditioned for America's Got Talent. She didn't get through, but she didn't let that stop her from pursuing her music (that whole determination thing I mentioned before) and had several paying gigs here locally before school and a 'regular job' took over all of her free time (Yeah, I wish she'd have skipped the job for a while yet, but I'm also proud of her for taking on responsibility and handling it so much better than I did at that age!)

Abyni-pets-400.png

She's the animal whisperer of the house. It's almost strange how the animals gravitate to her whenever she's in my room hanging out. Even the animals who refuse to cuddle with anyone else... especially:

Abyni-tiberius-400.png

Tiberius will not cuddle willingly with anyone... except for Abyni. He will literally just lay on her for hours until she has to get up and do something else. He fights and wiggles around if anyone else tries to make him do that.

Abyni-collage3-800.png

Happy birthday to my amazing, strong, independent, talented, beautiful daughter!

One of my many favorite covers that she did for steemit open mic (You might be able to hear me singing along in the background. I have a really hard time not doing that, apparently! And my husband being so weird in the bloopers, too.)

I am SO freaking proud of this girl. She is SUCH a strong person, living her life unapologetically with the kind of ambition I always wished I had. I would seriously admire her as a person, even if she wasn't my child. She is really an incredible person.

black.png

Other Fiction

Creepy Short Story:

THUMB-TheBnB-cover-1269908_1920.jpg


Creepy Short Story:

Thumb-365Days-Jacob-04.jpg


A fun series: Letters from a Boat Cat!

23-Tempest-hideandseek.png

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source at the bottom of my post (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Happy birthday to your beautiful, very talented and determined daughter! Have a nice day :D

Thank you and same to you! ;)

Crazy how time flies! Happy birthday, @abyni!

It's weird to me that my kids aren't 50 years old sometimes. It seems like forever ago when they were toddlers! I think surely a LOT of decades have already passed!

She seems like such an incredible (talented!!) unique character, @byn. But then, just like her mom, no? ;)
Congratulations, you must be really proud of her <3 Happy birthday @abyni <3

I am so proud of her, I can't even tell you! Thanks for the comment!

Awww...I can tell you are proud and have faith in her future. Happy birthday @abyni!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I am just astounded at how my kids turned out so well in spite of me :) and because of me!

Congratulations and happy birthday to your slightly less little one.

Thank you so much! She had a fabulous birthday weekend!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

What a wonderful tribute to 18 years of growth. What are the colorful sculptures in the photo with the guitar case? They remind me of the style of Roy Lichtenstein, yet I can't find any info on them on his sites.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Those were across from the big convention center we went to in Houston, TX for auditions.

Thank you for the comment!~

Happy Belated Birthday @abyni.
I'm pretty sure she will be doing great things in this world from the lists of achievements so far. So happy for you both!

Thank you so much. I look forward to seeing where all of my kids go in life!

So happy for you, have a great day ya!

wow Byn what an amazing kid you got there! I would be super proud of her too and she has a great voice on tip of all her other talents!

Thank you! I am pretty blessed in the kids department!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.77
ETH 3784.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65