DINOSAURS AND THE SPECIAL MEN IN OUR LIVES

in #family6 years ago (edited)

20180531_132000.jpg

When I was about 8 or 9 my mother was overseas and my paternal grandmother decided that it was high time my father prepare me for that unspeakable part of womanhood. I was blissfully unaware and still playing with my dolls. I can imagine my red-faced father wandering the daunting aisle of tampons and pads. When he arrived home he thrust a huge parcel in my hands - wrapped in a dozen grocery packets - and beat a hasty retreat. Inside was what I assumed had something to do with an embarrassing part of growing up. I shoved the package to the back of my cupboard and returned to my dolls. Months later my younger brother had a dinosaur project and spent days constructing a life-sized replica. When all the adults had a party my brother proudly brought down his dinosaur to be admired. And to my horror - probably much more my poor fathers horror - this giant dinosaur was well "padded"!!

Martinette Hannahpads.jpg

Fast forward to my adult years: Those ungainly monthly "surfboards" have trimmed down considerably. But much like the every other aspect of my life, this two is all natural. I have been blessed by a friend who imports the amazing organic Hannahpads. Post-partum however, they almost look like those ghastly childhood "surfboards" except that they are floral and all natural! Having a newborn I had both my post-partum Hannahpads and the amazing cloth nappies (South African term for diapers) of my precious son to wash. My parents-in-law visited their week old grandson. And when it appeared rain was imminent my father-in-law went rushing outside, to check cloud cover I thought. He soon returned waving a handful of freshly washed floral Hannahpads and, with a smile, said "I brought in your nappies".

IMG_0955 (3).JPG

When I started this post - or the idea of this post - I was going to offer X-amount of SBD. I thought I would make it a #contest or #challenge. With a monetary prize. But we each have our own special memories of those different wonderful men in our lives to share. Husband. Father. Brother. Grandfather. Uncle. These amusing memories of mine are of special men in my life, Brother @craigcryptoking, Dad @quailbreeder and father-in-law. This is a different type of tribute to the one I posted of a man among men; my Husband whose incredible example I posted about last week:

https://steemit.com/family/@buckaroo/paying-tribute-to-the-men-in-our-lives-my-not-a-contest

DAD.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, so I included you on my #payitforward post this week. It's a competition by @thedarkhorse and @pifc and I really wanted people to see the great stuff you do. https://steemit.com/payitforward/@permieemmy/week-12-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-permieemmy

I found this post thanks to the entry. Nice to have someone featured a second time around like this.

It certainly is very special to be appreciated in this way!

Thank you @permieemy! I was entered when I first joined Steemit, 2 months ago but I love that you entered this specific post! So funny what your Dad did!

@permieemmy featured you in the pay it forward contest.

I remember from a prior feature and I have No comment to make about the post :) at this time because I believe the clouds are rolling in and have to be checked on

I remember the dinosaur to be a robot ;)

Robotic dinosaur. It was too traumatic to remember finer details

This happened to me and my mum was out so my Dad tried his hardest, got the instructions out the tampon box and then went... well that's how you do that hahaha

So.. you're having a baby boy? Congratulations! That's why I missed your entry on Pay It Forward for a few weeks.
@permieemmy featured you in the contest this week. Have a good time with your Men, a contest is needed in this situation to keep the active users have fun.

Thanks he's already 10 months old but he's been teething so I'm too busy for Steemit

Enjoy your incredible moment with him @buckaroo
We always support you ..!

Lovely post! Thank you! I wonder if your brother will ever live that down. I so wish I had taken a picture of it!

You are blessed by the Almighty Father to have a great father and father-in-law. LOL great memories however embarrassing you might have felt before. My dad didn't have anything to do with me unless he really have to.

That is so sad for you! And ultimately his grandchildren. Absentee fathers is one of the curses of this age tragically. It really affects how we are with our Heavenly Father. But isn't it comforting knowing HIS Almighty Arms?!!

haha this is awesome! I have a similar story of my father having to stop and run in a corner store for me. When he got back in the car, my younger brother kept asking why he didn't get a 'treat' too haha My dad just ignored the whole thing!

I found your post because @permieemmy featured you in our Pay it forward contest; you should consider joining us too :)

That's a cute story! I'm sure your brother would NOW understand. @permieemmy wrote such a great post! I'm really touched. I have been doing the pay it forward, except the last couple weeks have been rather rough so steemit is being neglected. It's a great initiative

I'm sorry that the

last couple weeks have been rather rough

and I hope that's not still the case! :)

My brother and I have never spoken about it again lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97