The Pirate Party and PIA what I learned today about Rick Falkvinge

in #falkvinge8 years ago

Rick Falkvinge and Pirate Party

I just read Rick #Falkvinge's both articles that are now at the top of Steemit trending now articles.

I have been a user of the VPN PIA since April of this year. I like to learn about the people behind the technology I am using as it personalizes it to me. I did not read the title and I thought he lost and eye until I read that he is a member of the Pirate Party which is the reason for his eye patch.

PIA VPN

PIA VPN was very helpful in getting around download restrictions for recent TV shows and movies for a while at both the Univeristy I attend and at the public library. The University that I go to unfortunately decided to block access to this VPN last month. I also used to use this VPN at the public library but they too blocked access to this VPN --and possibly all VPN's just to make sure no one is downloading forbidden content. PIA VPN is the only VPN that I have used. (I am too poor to get internet installed at my home right now but when I get home internet I will use PIA VPN at home.)

Falkvinge's Story


I was really moved by his story on Wikipedia and I just followed his Twitter account. I didn't know that he was so poor at one time that he lived on donations from members of the Pirate Party for 18 months. I have several Twitter accounts myself that are about Bitcoin news, precious metal prices, and science news so I have been involved in these issues for awhile. As a sit at the library and write this I clicked on a link from Falkvinge's Twitter account that is on the PIA site about copyrights and privacy and the filter blocked it saying "Your connection is not private. Attackers might be trying to steal your information from www.privateinternetaccess.com (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards)." That is disingenuous to say the least if I were allowed to use a VPN it would be harder for attackers to steal any information.

I live in the US. I have thought for a long time that what whatever party is in power we lose more and more rights every year.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bitcoinmoney! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bitcoinmoney! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bitcoinmoney! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60478.98
ETH 2653.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45