Having fun taking a break from the daily routine!

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

Man, it sure is good for me taking a break from time to time.

Just the change of environment is doing me good.

As a creature of habit, I tend to do the same things every day.

Most of it involving Steem in one way or another.

And that can get too much I am now starting to notice to the point where it gets in the way.

Sometimes (most of the time) when I'm playing a game, or watching a movie or being around other people I have felt my mind drifting to Steem even if I don't want it.

I don't know if anyone else recognizes this but it's the truth.

More so then ever after #newsteem I have become aware of it now and I'm actively fighting it.

I don't think it's healthy for me to be this 'obsessed' with how Steem is doing all the time but I never really noticed I was doing it.

Taking a break from Steem helps (Remember I blogged for 2,5 years straight every day, before I finally took my first break in #newsteem).

Yesterday I spend most of the day playing a SNES classic.

Castlevenia IV for the SNES.



I had so much fun, I love these old skool games.

@ezzy and I ended up clocking the game by defeating Dracula at around 23:00 and all that time I was just 'in the moment'.

Afterward, we watched one of the greatest simple fun action movies of all time: Commando with Arnold Schwarzenegger.



Just simple plain old fun. I need more of this. I think it's healthy.

Therefore, I believe I will have to find a new way to balance how I operate on Steem.

I'm always interested in everything Steem but I guess I don't need to know about it every second of every day all the time.

Not sure if there is anything like a Steem addiction but if there is I think I'm an addict :)

Sort:  

lol, that was a great read, looking forward to the next one.

Lol, cheers.
Glad you enjoyed!

Tomorrow, hopefully, for part two...

Yeah, you have to step away for a time or two. Steem can become an obsession. I messed with it for a bit and I still come back from time to time. Still, It's not as bad as FB. That can consume your live and relationships...

I never bothered much with Facebook or any of the others. Steem however...:)

Hey Mark! I am glad to see you going full out in terms of having fun. "They" say mindfulness is the first step to everything. If #newsteem is helping you to find a healthier balance then that's a win from what I can see! We all need to find a sustainable healthy Balance in all areas of life mind, body & spirit. Cheers!!

Thank Jill!

i guess that is everybody's problem here but you are off course a bit more in it than all of us together :-)

Hey, if you come to Thailand, could you bring me one of those 1Kg Calve peanut butter jars? Your reward will be awesome, promised :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not going to SF4 this year but I can always send you a jar if you need some.

nah, i just thought you would definitely be there, thanks for the offer. Not many Dutchies going i have the feeling...

Posted using Partiko Android

I just hope you keep doing VLOG’s, @exyle. I’ve gotten much of my Steemit insights from those videos. Not just the technical developments but insights on how community members generally feel about cultural changes. @lovejoy and I are shooting a #newsteem video this week and it involves an original Nintendo I found on Craigslist for $40! You’ll love it.

I'll keep doing my vlogs man, what I tried to say is that I need more 'off' time from Steem, compared to being always switched on. O man! An original Nintendo. Looking out for that one!

Well, for me this is the exact same feeling I had about Steemmonsters these last couple of weeks. I have been playing, reading, trading cards for over year now. Almost every single day I login to SM and I made a 'drastic' decision 5 days ago, one that really helps and frees up my time and mind. From now on I do 50/50, meaning one day on, one day off SM. And I included steempeak, steemengine and discord, since that kind of got included in the mix without me realising it too much. This works in both ways, on the one hand I have the WHOLE day free from SM, meaning I can do lots of other stuff and on the other hand every other day I am really excited to return to SM and discord, which in turn makes me more engaged there as well. A classic win-win I would say. I have always found amazing you could write or blog or vlog every day!

I still don't mind writing every day. I do enjoy it. A lot of what I mean has to do with thinking about Steem and what it can become outside of writing or playing steem monsters. I doubt anyone that uses Facebook or Youtube is wondering how facebook and youtube are doing all the time. Of course, they are less invested in it but still, it can become too much Steem. Taking breaks away from it helps indeed.

Castlevania IV and Commando are definitely classics. If you want to get into the Halloween mood, you should watch one of my favorite B movies, shot at the same mall as Commando. It's called "Chopping Mall." Here is a review I saw recently about it

Hi, @exyle!

You just got a 18.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

only work can you pull you off from it

Very good the nice project and post friends. Come on go to up steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.28