One major downside of the Garmin, and likely all smart-watches

in #exerciselast month

So far you have seen me go on and on, probably to too much of a degree about how much I love my Garmin Vivoactive 4. I was staring to feel like a sales representative because I was just so amazed with all the cool information I was getting even though I did pay more for this watch than I have paid for all the other watches I have or perhaps have ever had, maybe even combined.

The watch does some pretty amazing things like encourage you to exercise more, gives you good readouts about your heart rate and also does its best to estimate your caloric burn based on the information that you provide for it during the initial setup process and I can't stress enough how important it is to tell the truth during all of that because you will get bogus results if you lie on it. If you are a fatty, tell the software the truth, if you are already fit, tell the truth as well. There's no glory in bogus results.


image.png
src

The amount of things that the watch can do is pretty impressive and I am not even using some of the higher functions like loading it up with MP3s to listen to via bluetooth while I am exercising. It's very accurate on your speed, location, and elevation and I have no idea how this is possible but apparently it is. It gives great readouts on your caloric burn including calories that your body consumes simply by you being alive, which is quite a lot and might surprise some of you out there.

Thus far, and especially after the initial frustration regarding the GPS when I first got it, I have been very pleased. But there is no such thing as perfect and one thing that irritates me about this watch, and I presume all other watches like it, is the battery life on it is pretty terrible.


image.png
src

I don't know exactly what is draining it so quickly but I would imagine it has something to do with this laser type thing that emanates from the back of it into your body that reads your heart rate....and probably gives you cancer... we don't know yet.

Well it is really annoying to me to be about to head out the door and be greeted by a "low battery" screen on a regular basis.

This is a very minor thing of course and it only takes it about 20 minutes to charge anyway but this is just one of those things that I forget to do and once you are ready to head out the door to go exercise it can be a bit frustrating.

I suppose this is just a rant because I would imagine that there is nothing that can be done about this. Watches are small, watch batteries are smaller, so me needing to remember to plug it in every day I suppose is a minor thing. Now my next question would be what are the connectors made of because I regularly completely submerge this thing in water. hmmmmmm

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57