First week of returning to cardio

in #exercise2 years ago

I've been involved in some level of fitness for over 20 years. It's something that has always been important to me and I have a reasonably good body because of this. I have shoulders that are admirable and my chest and back are pretty impressive for someone my age as well. I also have traps which is something that I think anyone that lifts admires. These take years to develop and hopefully they will stick around even though I am transitioning out of my weights only approach.


image.png
src

So for the first time in many years I am returning to cardio after a relatively long break from it. Prior to switching over to just weights, I would RED (Run Every Day) even if that run was just 1 mile (1.6km). There are groups out there with thousands of members that subscribe to this method of cardio and it is very effective. Unless you are morbidly obese, or even if you are, I think that almost anyone is capable of moving ONE MILE every day. You don't have to run, you just have to finish it.

I of course tried to approach my first day back on cardio like a hero, which was a mistake. I ended up pushing myself too hard and it was very difficult. I wasn't even able to do the first mile without stopping and I probably could have if I had just taken it easy. What can I say? I am stubborn. In the end of my first session I managed to pull out just over 3km and by the end of it I was walking more than I was jogging. I am now a week in and only missed one day and am now still struggling, but finishing a 5k most day.

My pace is pathetic though and I don't think I am going to be able to improve this for quite some time. I weigh about 10kg more than I did from back when I was running regularly and while I am stronger in my entire body including my legs, my body just isn't prepared for this extra 22 lbs coming along for the run. Therefore my pace, which used to be under 6 mins per km, is now well over 7. I try not to let this get to me because I was never going to win any races anyway. I'm nearly 100kg (220lbs) and while it is mostly healthy weight, it is still excessive weight. According to various charts that are made from god knows what, the ideal weight for someone my age and height is 175 lbs (80 kg or so) and this is almost certainly why I am experiencing such difficulty.


image.png
src

By the end of my runs I am a sweaty mess to the point where I struggle to get my shirt off sometimes when I get home. This doesn't surprise me as I have been a very sweaty person all of my life, even when I was on various sports teams and in unbelievable shape back when I was in school. I do get a little self-conscious about it when there are people around, but it comes with the territory and well, I don't think anyone really cares anyway. Of course I'm sweaty! I'm a 200 lb guy that is running!

This is just the first week that I have been doing this so I am hopeful that it will get easier in a little bit. It would be unreasonable for me to expect that after months away from doing any cardio that I would just be able to jump straight back in there where I left off. I'm just a bit surprised at how my new muscle that I gained from my weight-only approach doesn't see to be helping in my runs at all.

I'll stay the course though and see this through. I have been to this point at multiple times in my life and one of them I was just fat, not a heavy guy with muscles. I am quite certain it will be easier this time around.

It's not a race against anyone other than myself. Now I feel as though I need to update my music on my phone since it is just mess of genres and most of them are not terribly motivating for exercise.


combo fatty.jpg
from athlete in my 20's to fat ass in my 30's to the strongest I have been in my life in my 40's. I lost over 50 lbs and kept it off by making small and manageable changes to my lifestyle. I believe if I can do it, so can almost anyone else

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65